Vactrol's and guitar pedals

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!
Gravitas
Learning to Wiggle

Vactrol's and guitar pedals

Post by Gravitas »

This is my first post so forgive me if this has been answered before.

I have an Award SessionMaster JD10 guitar pedal and I would like to replace the pots with CV inputs.
I've heard that vactrol's are the way forward in this regards.
The potentiometers are 3 pole side mounted 200k Ω which I have to replace anyway?
Any suggestions please.

Thank you very much in advance.
Gravitas
Learning to Wiggle

Re: Vactrol's and guitar pedals

Post by Gravitas »

Here's the link to the schematics from the Award.

https://www.award-session.com/pdfs/jd10-mk1.pdf
Kevin Mitchell
Veteran Wiggler

Post by Kevin Mitchell »

Hello and welcome!
I drew up a simulation for you on how to connect an opto to replace the pots that are used as simple variable resistors.
https://tinyurl.com/2ccv83o4
I've added a 220k resistor in series with what's realistically a photocell. The photocells have high off-resistance so this is needed to limit the max resistance.

For the output level pot you'll have to do it a little different. You can use two optos with the photocells in series but you must invert the voltage for one of the LEDs.
Gravitas
Learning to Wiggle

Post by Gravitas »

Thank you very much.
I've got a few questions.

Bear in mind I'm a newbie at this stuff as I normally do my stuff virtual.

From looking at the circuit on the right hand side of the simulation
where it shows a CV and ground symbol I presume this is the CV input?
and where it says "optocoupler" is this for the vactrol?
Is this a direct replacement for the potentiometers or can
this be wired in with the potentiometers on the guitar pedal itself.
Either way I don't mind.

Also the CV diagram on the left is that for reference?

In regards to the volume pot I'll leave that one till last. :)
Kevin Mitchell
Veteran Wiggler