Which brands provide schematics?

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., luketeaford, Kent, Joe., luketeaford

respito
Learning to Wiggle

Which brands provide schematics?

Post by respito »

Hi,

I'm new to the mod DIY scene, but not to electronics, having built a number of Heathkit kits way back when. It seems as if most mod kits don't come with schematics, however, which I think greatly detracts from their attractiveness.

Does anyone have a list or recommendations for which brands or companies sell good mod kits that do include schematics, or for which schematics are available?
noisecarpet
Learning to Wiggle

Re: Which brands provide schematics?

Post by noisecarpet »

Nonlinearcircuits have all the schematics for their modules online - often with handy annotations about which parts to tweak if you want to get creative. They're also great designs and usually use easy to find parts.
KSS
Super Deluxe Wiggler

Post by KSS »

Welcome to ModWiggler, respito!

Quite a few makers do provide schematics and others will provide them when asked. It's easier to define who doesn't typically provide schematics. Serge and their affiliates, like R*S.

mskala's northcoastsynthesis.com offers have excellent manuals including schematics. And yes, NLC is good.

If you can share more about your choices for module format and module types, it might help to get you a useful list. Otherwise you might get a list of makers and modules in formats that don't relate to what you're after. CLee in 4U banana is one example of a maker providing details but not generally aimed at Eurorrack size modules.
------------
I'd typically think 'mod' is an additon, update or modification to an existing synth or product. Module is the more common term for the project you'd add mods to.
Treat utility modules as stars instead of backup singers.
Treat power supplies like Rockstars instead of roadies!
Chase magic sound, not magic parts.