Oakley String Synth?

Discussion and support for users and builders of Oakley Sound musical products.

Moderators: Kent, Synthbuilder

Post Reply
User avatar
terjewinther
Common Wiggler
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 1:51 am
Location: Norway

Oakley String Synth?

Post by terjewinther »

Will the Oakley String Synth ever happen?
There was some talk about this a while ago, and from Tony´s web site we know that he has been tampering (analyzing?) and modifying various string synths over the years. And making different kinds of chorus units, essential for the traditional string synth sound.
Now that the 5U modules are ending, maybe there will be some possibilities for this?
There is of course plenty of competition, both from virtual boxes (Streichfett from Waldorf), and various dubious Bee-ringer stuff.
Still: if there ever will be an Oakley String synth, I would be happy to build and use one. Or two!
All my old string synths (of which I have some) are slowly degrading, and since they are essential to my music, at some point I will need an upgrade.
User avatar
Synthbuilder
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3238
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:12 am
Location: Cumbria, UK

Re: Oakley String Synth?

Post by Synthbuilder »

terjewinther wrote: Thu Oct 21, 2021 1:45 amWill the Oakley String Synth ever happen?
I hope so. I have finished and tested the master voltage controlled high frequency oscillator and top octave generator board. The plan was to have the whole thing in a 2U high 19" rack case, but as I was laying out the circuit board for the dividers and keying circuitry I realised it wasn't going to fit because the board was so huge. So I started looking into other ways of housing the unit. Then Covid hit and the project was put on the back burner.

Once the parts shortages ease I would like to restart the project. At the moment I can't say when it would be completed.
User avatar
terjewinther
Common Wiggler
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 1:51 am
Location: Norway

Re: Oakley String Synth?

Post by terjewinther »

Yo-hoo! Good news! You could consider putting it into a long case. Maybe even with a keyboard!
I know people like 19" rack units (I have lots as well), but there is some interest in having a shallow, but long case as an option. Could sit just on top on a MIDI-keyboard or another synth. Front panel would probably be expensive, though. Hmmmmm....
Yes, it needs some good thinking on how to resolve this.
Take your time, and let us know about the progress and/or results.
User avatar
Synthbuilder
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3238
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:12 am
Location: Cumbria, UK

Re: Oakley String Synth?

Post by Synthbuilder »

terjewinther wrote: Thu Oct 21, 2021 4:41 pmYou could consider putting it into a long case. Maybe even with a keyboard!
I'd love to do one with a keyboard but getting hold of new keyboards is not easy. My most recent project that needed a keybed was accomplished by buying a second hand Novation Remote 49 controller for 80GBP and using its Fatar TP9/s keyboard.

I also have to make sure the boards aren't too big. If they get too long I can't send them safely through the post. And string machine boards can be very big. I don't want too much wiring either. But they'll be a solution I am sure of that.

I'll keep the list updated as soon as I have anything to show.
User avatar
defutura
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 412
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 11:30 am

Re: Oakley String Synth?

Post by defutura »

I'm really looking forward to this.
Synthbuilder wrote: Thu Oct 21, 2021 11:33 amThe plan was to have the whole thing in a 2U high 19" rack case, but as I was laying out the circuit board for the dividers and keying circuitry I realised it wasn't going to fit because the board was so huge.
I would love a rack format string synth, even if it's 3U high --- especially if that means it's a little less deep. Are you planning on offering pre-built units, or is this strictly DIY?
WTB: STG Soundlabs Signal Amplifiers (MU format)
User avatar
Synthbuilder
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3238
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:12 am
Location: Cumbria, UK

Re: Oakley String Synth?

Post by Synthbuilder »

defutura wrote: Tue Nov 02, 2021 7:03 amAre you planning on offering pre-built units, or is this strictly DIY?
Prebuilt units are very unlikely unless Uli gets in touch again. The cost of getting a unit through EMC tests (a requirement to sell any electrical item) is way too expensive to make it economic for me to make and sell any ready made complete item. I know people do it, but they shouldn't, and one of these days they may regret it. For the moment, modular makers can get away with it, as we sell only sub-systems and, bizarrely, the onus then falls on the purchaser who builds their system to complete such tests. In the past, and probably currently, I could sell a complete item in the EU and get away with it. But with border inspections looking likely to become more rigorous it's not something I want to try out.
Post Reply

Return to “Oakley Sound Systems”