Question about the Oakley Bus

Discussion and support for users and builders of Oakley Sound musical products.

Moderators: Kent, Synthbuilder

Post Reply
User avatar
PatchMonger
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 2:37 pm
Location: Manchester (UK)

Question about the Oakley Bus

Post by PatchMonger »

Hi all,
I am planning on building a new case for my small Oakley/MOTM system. I am considering enabling the Oakly bus and having in the case a couple of jacks for the bus so I don't have to completely patch every time. My question is, how does it work when some VCOs and ENV are connected to the Oakley Bus?

Will they always be connected? Or is it the case that I can "break" the connection if I patch into the 1V/Oct in the VCO or the Gate in the ENV?
I am considering both the VCO and sVCo and also the ADSR/VCA and the VRG and would love to understand if that is possible.

The bus would be connected using a Dizzy power distribution board
I have not been able to find a lot of information about the bus but it sounds like a really good idea to me

Thank you
User avatar
Pav
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 347
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 3:21 pm
Location: UK Hampshire

Re: Question about the Oakley Bus

Post by Pav »

Plug in v/oct or gate breaks connection to bus. See vrg user guide as an example of gate normalisation being documented. You could confirm on schematics too.
rgds Pav
User avatar
Pav
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 347
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 3:21 pm
Location: UK Hampshire

Re: Question about the Oakley Bus

Post by Pav »

Oh and page 7 vrg user guide describes the Oakley bus implementation ..
rgds Pav
User avatar
PatchMonger
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 2:37 pm
Location: Manchester (UK)

Re: Question about the Oakley Bus

Post by PatchMonger »

Thats excellent. Thank you for confirming.It sounds then like an excellent idea. A lot of times I have a classic mono synth line patch and this would save me a lot of patching every time. I will include it in the design of my new case
User avatar
Synthacon
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 7:43 am
Location: UK

Re: Question about the Oakley Bus

Post by Synthacon »

It does take away a lot of pointless patching
You always want just one more synth
User avatar
eggpie
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 4:34 pm
Location: UK Kent

Re: Question about the Oakley Bus

Post by eggpie »

Another good source of info about the Oakley pitch and cv bus is the Dizzy issue 4 builder's guide; just about all the info you need really.
It does save a lot of patch cords, I can't think of a reason for any builder not to use it.
User avatar
PatchMonger
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 2:37 pm
Location: Manchester (UK)

Re: Question about the Oakley Bus

Post by PatchMonger »

That’s great. Thank you very much guys. I’m definitely including it in my next case
Post Reply

Return to “Oakley Sound Systems”