Oakley SRE330

Discussion and support for users and builders of Oakley Sound musical products.

Moderators: Kent, Synthbuilder

Spoontex
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 3:51 pm

Oakley SRE330

Post by Spoontex »

Hello,

I’m searching a clone of the Roland SDD 320. And searching I found the Oakley SRE 330. This is a good candidate for my studio?

Thanks
User avatar
wiperactive
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 607
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 12:17 pm
Location: Gloucestershire, UK

Re: Oakley SRE 330

Post by wiperactive »

The Oakley SRE-330 is definitely a good candidate for your studio as a fine sounding analogue chorus unit full stop, though I'm not sure how closely it can emulate the Roland SDD-320 Dimension D if that's an absolute must. I've never owned a D so can't say if it gets close enough. I liked the Oakley demos so much I bought the kit but it's still waiting to be built.

I also have a Roland SDX-330 Dimensional Expander, which although digital, claims to do a very close emulation of the D in one of its preset algorithms and generally sounds great. It would be nice to report a comparison with the Oakley, which when built, I'm hoping as an analogue device, will have an edge on the SDX-330.

The much sought after SDX-330 is a bit hard to find at a decent price these days and some will claim it's still not as close to the 'legendary' D as Roland would have it. Another Roland candidate that's often overlooked in this area is the RSP-550.

Finally, all these other units are not such a narrow-band specialist as the D and will outstrip it in versatility.
User avatar
Synthbuilder
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3308
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:12 am
Location: Cumbria, UK

Re: Oakley SRE 330

Post by Synthbuilder »

Spoontex wrote: Fri Apr 10, 2020 3:56 pmI’m searching a clone of the Roland SDD 320.
The SRE330 can get you close but it won't do it exactly straight out of the box. The SDD320 features several interesting and unique aspects. Firstly, the chorus effect does not affect the bass end of the audio spectrum, Secondly, it uses a stereo widening process by which the mono parts of the signal are attenuated.

Both these aspects can be simulated externally using a decent mixing desk with EQ and stereo widening features when used with the SRE330. Any DAW based mixer, Cubase, Live et al, can certainly do it. So to make the SRE330 behave similarly to the SDD320 you will need to use external processing, firstly to high pass filter the audio going to the SRE330, secondly to widen the output, and thirdly to control the wet/dry signal.

That said, I had a SDD320 and much preferred the sound of the SRE330 for the things I was using it for.

Klark Teknik will be making a clone of the SDD320 sometime this year.

https://www.klarkteknik.com/Categories/ ... 20/p/P0DTH

And Roland have their Boss DC-2W which is pretty neat:

https://www.boss.info/uk/products/dc-2w/

For DIY Juergen Haible's Subtle Chorus is about as close as you can get:

http://randomsource.net/haible/vintage

Tony
Spoontex
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 3:51 pm

Re: Oakley SRE 330

Post by Spoontex »

Thanks for the the answers.

I study all this options. But I think I go fot the SRE330 or maybe the Subtle Chorus.

Basically I want an analog chorus unit, for "everything", guitars, basses, voices, mixes...

What do you think about?

Thanks.
julienvoirin
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 7:48 am

Re: Oakley SRE 330

Post by julienvoirin »

what about modified BOSS CE-300 (for analogue line level signal) ? I own one i modified years ago to be similar to SDD320 and it is amazingly good
Spoontex
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 3:51 pm

Re: Oakley SRE 330

Post by Spoontex »

This is a good idea. I will keep it in mind.
User avatar
Synthbuilder
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3308
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:12 am
Location: Cumbria, UK

Re: Oakley SRE 330

Post by Synthbuilder »

The expected price on the upcoming KT BBD-320 is 149Euros. There is little chance anyone could make it cheaper than that. I was thinking about doing my own version of the SDD-320 at some point, but I shan't bother now. That said, Music Group have been touting a lot of new toys recently and not all of them have made it to market.

Modifying a CE-300 is possible but to get that real SDD-320 experience you'll need to hack it quite a bit. The LF roll off for the BBD pathway and the subtle stereo widening are part of what makes the SDD-320 so unique.

Tony
Spoontex
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 3:51 pm

Re: Oakley SRE 330

Post by Spoontex »

Yes, I saw the KT BBD-320! and the price is amazing. What you think about the Berhinger Klark products? It worth? It's "straight" replica? Any one has the opportunity to examine one of the Klark products?

Thanks.
User avatar
Leverkusen
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2493
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 2:26 am
Location: Rungholt

Re: Oakley SRE 330

Post by Leverkusen »

Spoontex wrote: Mon Apr 20, 2020 11:16 am Yes, I saw the KT BBD-320! and the price is amazing. What you think about the Berhinger Klark products? It worth? It's "straight" replica? Any one has the opportunity to examine one of the Klark products?

Thanks.
I am not sure if this is the right place to discuss this product as it seems to be not really closely related to the SRE 330 - there is already a topic about it here: viewtopic.php?t=226555
User avatar
Synthbuilder
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3308
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:12 am
Location: Cumbria, UK

Re: Oakley SRE 330

Post by Synthbuilder »

Spoontex wrote: Mon Apr 20, 2020 11:16 am Yes, I saw the KT BBD-320! and the price is amazing. What you think about the Berhinger Klark products? It worth? It's "straight" replica? Any one has the opportunity to examine one of the Klark products?
I may well buy one to see what's up. And also to see if I can sneak a few modifications in there too.

What is KT's stuff like these days? I've no idea. They used to be excellently made, but with Music Group's buying power and Far Eastern manufacturing it's no surprise that they can make stuff a lot cheaper than anyone else - including those of us building at home.

I had Behringer's CC300 Dim-C clone pedal and it was pretty good (especially because it was only 25GBP). They made a few mistakes in their version but this was relatively easy to rectify. Even as stock it was an excellent purchase.

Tony
User avatar
boops
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1089
Joined: Mon May 06, 2013 6:06 am
Location: Paris France
Contact:

Re: Oakley SRE 330

Post by boops »

Already posted this morning in the diy section
pics

viewtopic.php?f=17&t=231404&p=3256468#p3256468

my tip,use 4 pins not 2 for the power led (pic)more steady

I’ ve just finished 2 x sre 330 Oakley units ,the panel come from the beast .co,

http://thebeast.co.uk/?product_cat=otherpanels

one for me ,the other for a wiggler.A pro audio symétrique input output /stereo unit !
not too difficult ,but a long,long project ,first to source,as it was the first time i built it.
two differents psu the oakley one,with a Yama ha PA 20,and my own design /sound is the same at the end on pro monitor
pm if interested for a built or feel free to ask question ,here in the forum for an advice .

short demo
https://soundcloud.com/boops95/sre-330-test

long demo
https://soundcloud.com/boops95/sre-330- ... odie-short
208X 200X modules serie ,Buchla 200 upgraded https://www.muffwiggler.com/forum/viewt ... 5#p3444875
FS :custom buchla 203 style càbinet ,skiff new design,boat ,hardware for diy cabinet ,easel case ,new 1u to 10u to 56u and more. / New 208 buchla card 12 price down atm/
HQ small case buchla psu PCB
https://www.muffwiggler.com/forum/viewt ... 93#3118393
https://www.muffwiggler.com/forum/viewt ... highlight=
xtov
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 1:02 am
Location: La Rochelle (France)

Re: Oakley SRE 330

Post by xtov »

Hi Tony, Hi wigglers !
I just finished my SRE330, but the fuses blow a way each time I put the unit on. Must have a short circuit somewhere, but don’t know where to begin with !
I use the Yamaha PA-20.
My first idea is about the 2 TO-220 : I didn’t isolated them with the bushes as I didn’t buy them. Is it a possible cause of this issue?
BTW, here are a few pictures of the face (waiting the knobs !)

Thanks for help
Attachments
Face 3
Face 3
Face 2
Face 2
Face 1
Face 1
User avatar
Synthbuilder
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3308
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:12 am
Location: Cumbria, UK

Re: Oakley SRE 330

Post by Synthbuilder »

Nice looking project.
xtov wrote: Thu Jul 23, 2020 3:17 pmMy first idea is about the 2 TO-220 : I didn’t isolated them with the bushes as I didn’t buy them. Is it a possible cause of this issue?
Yes. It is essential that both bushes and insulating pads be used for the TO-220 devices. No part of the metal tab on either TO-220 device should make electrical contact with the metal case. Use a multimeter to check that the resistance between each tab and the case is not below 100 ohms.

Tony
xtov
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 1:02 am
Location: La Rochelle (France)

Re: Oakley SRE330

Post by xtov »

Hi Tony,

OK it works after isolating the 2 TO-220, the fuses won’t blow up anymore.

The relay clicks when put on and off.

But none of the LED light on (either the power LED or the Peak LEDs). I paid attention to have them oriented the right way.

I have +15v and -15v where expected.

Here are pictures of the stripboards where the LEDs are mounted on, if it can help.

Christophe
Attachments
image.jpg
image.jpg
xtov
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 1:02 am
Location: La Rochelle (France)

Re: Oakley SRE330

Post by xtov »

Update : I decided to make a bridge on the 2 stripboards, and now it works ! The peak LEDs and the power LED light as expected !

Time to calibrate ! 😎

Christophe
User avatar
LED-man
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1611
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 1:48 pm
Location: Wolfsburg Germany
Contact:

Re: Oakley SRE330

Post by LED-man »

DFF05E17-2F53-4FAF-9745-C69D383448B3.jpeg
################################
TTSH Support Page and other DIY Projects:
https://www.DSL-man.de
User avatar
LED-man
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1611
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 1:48 pm
Location: Wolfsburg Germany
Contact:

Re: Oakley SRE330

Post by LED-man »

################################
TTSH Support Page and other DIY Projects:
https://www.DSL-man.de
Jop
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 1:18 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Oakley SRE330

Post by Jop »

Sourcing parts for my SRE-330 and have trouble getting the V3207D delay lines. Does anybody have 4 pcs left willing to sell or know a reliable source?

Thanks a lot!
Clbraddock
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2021 9:20 am

Re: Oakley SRE330

Post by Clbraddock »

This probably a dumb question, but trimmer Slow and Clk2 have 4 pads on the pcb but the trimmers have only 3 feet. If I put the trimmers in normally the circled pads are unconnected? Is this right? The unconnected pads have traces to them.
Attachments
05929943-190F-4AB6-AF81-F0E3845DB33C.jpeg
4FFA73BD-B593-4926-8B4F-A9AF2D8ADA6C.jpeg
eljay
Common Wiggler
Posts: 195
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 4:50 pm
Location: Dorset, UK

Re: Oakley SRE330

Post by eljay »

They look like vias, these are used to connect tracks from one side of the board to the other, they don't have a component fitted to them but are often filled with a small amount of solder to ensure a good connection between the connected tracks.
Clbraddock
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2021 9:20 am

Re: Oakley SRE330

Post by Clbraddock »

Which 2 bbd chips (3207) and 2 (3102) timing chips are used for multi-stereo mode? I need to test some old MN3207 chips and am not sure which socket to try them in. I figure stereo mode with only 2 active (and panned left and right) would be the easiest way to test.
User avatar
Synthbuilder
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3308
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:12 am
Location: Cumbria, UK

Re: Oakley SRE330

Post by Synthbuilder »

Clbraddock wrote: Wed Dec 08, 2021 2:37 pmWhich 2 bbd chips (3207) and 2 (3102) timing chips are used for multi-stereo mode? I need to test some old MN3207 chips and am not sure which socket to try them in. I figure stereo mode with only 2 active (and panned left and right) would be the easiest way to test.
In stereo mode, U51 (right) and U38 (left) are the BBDs responsible for the effect.
Clbraddock
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2021 9:20 am

Re: Oakley SRE330

Post by Clbraddock »

Awesome, thanks so much for the info. Really appreciate it
User avatar
Synthbuilder
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3308
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:12 am
Location: Cumbria, UK

Re: Oakley SRE330

Post by Synthbuilder »

Clbraddock wrote: Thu Dec 09, 2021 1:29 pm Awesome, thanks so much for the info. Really appreciate it.
When you are testing older chips the one thing you need to remember is that BBDs don't normally just die, they get old slowly. So they often will degrade over time rather than just conk out. If you are testing them in the SRE330, use a triangle wave input and calibrate offset first. Then listen closely to the output with the triangle wave still running, but quietly with no modulation (ie. just a low level of basic delayed signal), and check for weird noises like fluttering and excessive noise. All BBDs make some noise, but 'phut, phut... phut' instead of a constant hiss is a sure sign that they've degraded.

Listening to the output without any signal running through the BBDs will probably not tell you much as the SRE330's noise reduction will kick in and you won't be hearing the output of the BBD unless the BBD is seriously degraded.
Clbraddock
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2021 9:20 am

Re: Oakley SRE330

Post by Clbraddock »

Ok need some help.

I completed the SRE330 a couple weeks ago and it had been working great. Then yesterday something went haywire (I had asked about swapping some 3207s earlier, but I hadn’t done that yet. The SRE330 was still tucked away in its rack when this problem arose and I hadn’t changed anything.

All of the sudden, on all of the multi settings the sin modulation runs very fast. I measured pin 1 of U20 on the scope and with the sin rate knob all the way right it is about 50 hz as it should be. With the sin rate knob all the way left ,however, it only drops to 42 hz which is too fast. On 3 phase it still measures correct however.

I checked the pot itself and it measures correctly. Also checked the pot connections and they look okay.

I checked the DC voltage on U5 and it’s still +/-15 volts.

Checked pin 6 of U32, 38, U43, U51 and they are all around 75 hz (although the wave is a bit shaky and moves between 72hz through 76 hz on all of them - I don’t remember that being the case before.)

There aren’t any visually blown components on the board.

I don’t really know what to check from here. It’s weird that it was working great and then this happened out of the blue. Any help is much appreciated!
Post Reply

Return to “Oakley Sound Systems”