ES-9 No output from headphones or main out in standalone

Discussion and support for Expert Sleepers' Silent Way software and hardware.
Post Reply
User avatar
luketeaford
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3018
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:54 pm
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Contact:

ES-9 No output from headphones or main out in standalone

Post by luketeaford »

I'm having trouble with ES-9 suddenly after working successfully for a couple years (and as recently as Saturday). If it's in hosted mode and sending audio from Ableton, it works as expected.

Standalone mode is no longer working (I don't think it's a problem with the config tool-- I have configured it correctly before and I haven't changed it in over a year-- unless resetting to defaults ALSO saves to the device...). Audio does not come from headphones or L and R outputs despite my best attempts.

I'm not sure what to do to troubleshoot this. I'm trying to send a signal from modular to input 3 for example. The config tool sends Input 3 to Bus 1 and Bus 1 should be going out to L and R and Headphones and it's set to 0dB in all configs.

Any help very much appreciated!
User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 17866
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ES-9 No output from headphones or main out in standalone

Post by os »

Connect it to the config tool, load the standalone config, and let's see a screenshot of it.
http://www.expert-sleepers.co.uk/

New album "Four Drones for Saxophone and Modular Synthesizer" out now:
https://andrew-ostler.bandcamp.com/albu ... ynthesizer
User avatar
luketeaford
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3018
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:54 pm
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Contact:

Re: ES-9 No output from headphones or main out in standalone

Post by luketeaford »

The manual says:
The Reset to Defaults button restores the current configuration to default settings. It does not affect
the saved configurations. If you want to reset one of the saved configurations to defaults you need
to 'Reset to Defaults' and then 'Save to Flash'.
Is there possibly a bug that resetting saves to flash in the latest firmware? Or does Save to Flash (hosted) also Save to Flash (Standalone)? It's pretty unlikely that I would have saved this in a not-working state... (unless pressing the headphone encoder can somehow save)

It looks like my issue IS the config tool after all... shouldn't it be possible to send Input 3 to Bus 1 and send Bus 1 out to Main Out L?
User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 17866
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ES-9 No output from headphones or main out in standalone

Post by os »

It should. As ever, a screenshot would help.
http://www.expert-sleepers.co.uk/

New album "Four Drones for Saxophone and Modular Synthesizer" out now:
https://andrew-ostler.bandcamp.com/albu ... ynthesizer
User avatar
luketeaford
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3018
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:54 pm
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Contact:

Re: ES-9 No output from headphones or main out in standalone

Post by luketeaford »

Image

Thanks!

I don't understand why this is the default for standalone because patching into outputs 1-14 makes no sound. I feel like when I first got ES-9, I set it up so outputs 1-2 were left/right and outputs 3-14 summed to mono. That whole mix went out to Main Out L, Main Out R, and Headphones.
Attachments
no-sound-default-standalone-config
no-sound-default-standalone-config
User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 17866
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ES-9 No output from headphones or main out in standalone

Post by os »

That won't give you anything in standalone. You need to choose the analogue inputs for the mixer inputs.
http://www.expert-sleepers.co.uk/

New album "Four Drones for Saxophone and Modular Synthesizer" out now:
https://andrew-ostler.bandcamp.com/albu ... ynthesizer
Post Reply

Return to “Expert Sleepers”