"Remix/ReMangle" Contest now open!

Prizes generously donated by:
ADDAC System (Eurorack 3U)
Endorphin.es (Eurorack 3U)
Fred's Lab (DIY Paraphonic Synth)
Northern Light Modular (Buchla-format h-series)
Rattly and Raw (Wiggler Approved Kontakt Instrument)
Studio.h (Buchla-format 4U)

Show us what "remix" means to you! Create, share, vote, win modules & more! Free gifts too!
Join in here!

Super Sixteen build support thread

Creator of of the Super Sixteen Sequencer and based in San Francisco. This is a DIY and Finished Good product for Eurorack.

Moderators: Kent, extralifedisco

Post Reply
User avatar
Kelaifu
Common Wiggler
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 11:11 pm

Re: Super Sixteen build support thread

Post by Kelaifu » Wed Oct 06, 2021 5:19 am

skimmed through the whole thread and I don't think this has been covered...

Is it possible to program a new brain PCB without building the rest of the module? I have a couple of sets of partially populated SMT boards and I need to send one set to a friend who's getting into DIY. I need to place a couple of parts the PCB house didnt fit, and ideally program the chip so my friend just needs to do the through hole parts and hopefully it'll be good to go.

So, since the power socket is on the same board, can I just power that single PCB from my rack and program it as normal?

Texy
Common Wiggler
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2021 7:28 am
Location: Newbury, UK

Re: Super Sixteen build support thread

Post by Texy » Wed Oct 06, 2021 5:28 am

Kelaifu wrote:
Wed Oct 06, 2021 5:19 am
skimmed through the whole thread and I don't think this has been covered...

Is it possible to program a new brain PCB without building the rest of the module? I have a couple of sets of partially populated SMT boards and I need to send one set to a friend who's getting into DIY. I need to place a couple of parts the PCB house didnt fit, and ideally program the chip so my friend just needs to do the through hole parts and hopefully it'll be good to go.

So, since the power socket is on the same board, can I just power that single PCB from my rack and program it as normal?
I programmed a spare Atmel chip I had even before I received the kit. So if you have the ability to program chips, it can be done via various means. I used an Arduino Uno.
Texy

User avatar
Kelaifu
Common Wiggler
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 11:11 pm

Re: Super Sixteen build support thread

Post by Kelaifu » Wed Oct 06, 2021 8:51 am

Texy wrote:
Wed Oct 06, 2021 5:28 am
I programmed a spare Atmel chip I had even before I received the kit. So if you have the ability to program chips, it can be done via various means. I used an Arduino Uno.
Texy
Do you mean the through hole DIP chip? I am using the SMT board with the little quad sided package.

User avatar
extralifedisco
Common Wiggler
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:03 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

Re: Super Sixteen build support thread

Post by extralifedisco » Wed Oct 06, 2021 2:34 pm

Kelaifu wrote:
Wed Oct 06, 2021 5:19 am
skimmed through the whole thread and I don't think this has been covered...

Is it possible to program a new brain PCB without building the rest of the module? I have a couple of sets of partially populated SMT boards and I need to send one set to a friend who's getting into DIY. I need to place a couple of parts the PCB house didnt fit, and ideally program the chip so my friend just needs to do the through hole parts and hopefully it'll be good to go.

So, since the power socket is on the same board, can I just power that single PCB from my rack and program it as normal?
Yes, you can program the chip in-situ on just the the brain PCB. However a partially populated board may not have all the necessary connections. The same is true for either THT or SMT boards. You will need the following components at minumum (part numbers below are for the SMT board, should be the same though):

- power connector
- ICSP connector
- 5v voltage regulator
- 16khz crystal
- crystal capacitor network (2x 22pf - C7/C8)
- clock and reset resistors (R1 - 1M / R2 - 10k)
- power protection diodes (D3/D4)
- power filter chokes (L1, L2, L3)
- power filter caps (C1, C2, preferably C11)

If necessary, you could bridge the chokes and diodes with jumpers for the purpose of programming but then you'd have a desoldering job on your hands as well.

User avatar
Kelaifu
Common Wiggler
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 11:11 pm

Re: Super Sixteen build support thread

Post by Kelaifu » Wed Oct 06, 2021 8:01 pm

extralifedisco wrote:
Wed Oct 06, 2021 2:34 pm
Yes, you can program the chip in-situ on just the the brain PCB. However a partially populated board may not have all the necessary connections. The same is true for either THT or SMT boards. You will need the following components at minumum (part numbers below are for the SMT board, should be the same though):
Brilliant!, when i said partially populated, it's only missing 3 parts on the brain PCB, I placed them already so we should be good to go. Now to try follow the youtube videos on flashing.

Thanks for the awesome module and the feedback extralifedisco!

jonnyjupiter
Common Wiggler
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2020 3:41 am

Re: Super Sixteen build support thread

Post by jonnyjupiter » Sat Nov 13, 2021 9:54 am

Hi Matthew.
I'm having trouble trying to install 1.1a firmware via terminal commands on Mac and Arduino.
Error message on terminal:
avrdude: error reading system wide configuration file "/Users/jenkins/jenkins/workspace/avrdude-staging/label/mac-mini/objdir/etc/avrdude.conf"

I don't know who jenkins is and my Mac is an iMac, not a mac-mini, so all very confusing.

The command I ran which got this message was:
/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Java/hardware/tools/avr/bin/avrdude -P COM5 -p m328p -c stk500v1 -b19200 -U flash:w:firmware.hex

The path was the one I got from the verbose output in the Arduino IDE and checks out as being correct.
I tried changing the COM5 to the port as shown in the Arduino IDE and stk500v1 to arduino, but the error message was the same. I was definitely in the same folder as the firmware hex file when executing the command.
The module didn't turn off the way it did on your video. Is this because it was powered from a eurorack case? I don't know how to power it from the same source as the Arduino so that there is a shared ground.

Texy
Common Wiggler
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2021 7:28 am
Location: Newbury, UK

Re: Super Sixteen build support thread

Post by Texy » Sat Nov 13, 2021 12:10 pm

jonnyjupiter wrote:
Sat Nov 13, 2021 9:54 am
Hi Matthew.
I'm having trouble trying to install 1.1a firmware via terminal commands on Mac and Arduino.
Error message on terminal:
avrdude: error reading system wide configuration file "/Users/jenkins/jenkins/workspace/avrdude-staging/label/mac-mini/objdir/etc/avrdude.conf"

I don't know who jenkins is and my Mac is an iMac, not a mac-mini, so all very confusing.

The command I ran which got this message was:
/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Java/hardware/tools/avr/bin/avrdude -P COM5 -p m328p -c stk500v1 -b19200 -U flash:w:firmware.hex

The path was the one I got from the verbose output in the Arduino IDE and checks out as being correct.
I tried changing the COM5 to the port as shown in the Arduino IDE and stk500v1 to arduino, but the error message was the same. I was definitely in the same folder as the firmware hex file when executing the command.
The module didn't turn off the way it did on your video. Is this because it was powered from a eurorack case? I don't know how to power it from the same source as the Arduino so that there is a shared ground.
Hi,
have you seen the notes in this thread : https://modwiggler.com/forum/viewtopic. ... 7&t=245798

...might help.
Texy

jonnyjupiter
Common Wiggler
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2020 3:41 am

Re: Super Sixteen build support thread

Post by jonnyjupiter » Sat Nov 13, 2021 7:15 pm

Thanks, Texy.
I'll give that thread a good read.

User avatar
extralifedisco
Common Wiggler
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:03 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

Re: Super Sixteen build support thread

Post by extralifedisco » Sat Nov 13, 2021 9:22 pm

jonnyjupiter wrote:
Sat Nov 13, 2021 9:54 am
Hi Matthew.
I'm having trouble trying to install 1.1a firmware via terminal commands on Mac and Arduino.
Error message on terminal:
avrdude: error reading system wide configuration file "/Users/jenkins/jenkins/workspace/avrdude-staging/label/mac-mini/objdir/etc/avrdude.conf"

I don't know who jenkins is and my Mac is an iMac, not a mac-mini, so all very confusing.

The command I ran which got this message was:
/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Java/hardware/tools/avr/bin/avrdude -P COM5 -p m328p -c stk500v1 -b19200 -U flash:w:firmware.hex

The path was the one I got from the verbose output in the Arduino IDE and checks out as being correct.
I tried changing the COM5 to the port as shown in the Arduino IDE and stk500v1 to arduino, but the error message was the same. I was definitely in the same folder as the firmware hex file when executing the command.
The module didn't turn off the way it did on your video. Is this because it was powered from a eurorack case? I don't know how to power it from the same source as the Arduino so that there is a shared ground.
Interesting, I know there is a jenkins software package used for continuous integration testing but I don't know why avrdude would be looking at that. A couple things you could try:

1. Run the command with sudo in front of it. You will be asked to enter your user password the first time you use sudo. If it's a directory permissions issue this should fix it when running from the terminal.

2. Check to see if that conf file exists. Try using cat to inspect the file, eg.
cat /Users/jenkins/jenkins/workspace/avrdude-staging/label/mac-mini/objdir/etc/avrdude.conf
You should see the contents of your arduino configuration. If you get a permissions error, you could use "sudo cat" to override. If you get nothing, or a "file not found" error, that config file doesn't exist.

3. There is a mention on the arduino github issues page of a similar error - the user found uninstalling the core library and reinstalling fixed the bug for them. You could try that: https://github.com/arduino/Arduino/issues/10379

jonnyjupiter
Common Wiggler
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2020 3:41 am

Re: Super Sixteen build support thread

Post by jonnyjupiter » Sun Nov 14, 2021 7:39 am

Thanks, Matthew.
I'll give that a go today and let you know how I get on.

jamos
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2018 3:23 pm
Location: Eugene Oregon

Re: Super Sixteen build support thread

Post by jamos » Wed Nov 17, 2021 2:37 pm

I've been looking at this project... probably won't dive in for other reasons, but I have to say it's a shame that this does not have an option to be powered from the +5 v rail. Next rev?
Nord Modular G2 & G2X, Emulator X, MPC Live, and a growing Euro system.

User avatar
Jan Ickx
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2020 9:03 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: Super Sixteen build support thread

Post by Jan Ickx » Wed Nov 24, 2021 7:32 pm

Hey Matthew!
I got my build via Exploding Shed in Leipzig/Germany and finished it today. I'm more of a beginner/intermediate solderer, but had a great time putting it together and it seems to work flawlessly on the first attempt (spent the last hours testing it). So, thanks for all the time and effort you put in the design, as far as I can tell, you did a great job! The manual in combination with the video was very helpful too. :)

The only problem I've encountered so far is the LEDs' brightness, especially on the sequencer steps. They are much too bright, blinding me when looking directly at the super sixteen's front panel, so I can't even read the printings anymore. Brighter than any other LEDs in my synth. Also they appear to be flickering at a pretty high rate.

Unfortunately I don't have that much of a clue when it comes to electronics, so could you point me in any direction? Thanks so much!

Cheers,
Jan

Post Reply

Return to “Extralife Instruments”