Oakley Router modified for connection to Oakley Bus

Discussion and support for users and builders of Oakley Sound musical products.

Moderators: Kent, Synthbuilder

Post Reply
waldenpotato
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 289
Joined: Sun May 31, 2020 2:19 am

Oakley Router modified for connection to Oakley Bus

Post by waldenpotato » Fri Apr 16, 2021 11:59 am

I've been trying to think of a clever way to connect the Oakley Bus between cases. I'm going to be building my 5U modules one 19'' rack case at a time, which only leaves me with 10U of modules for each case. What if I wanted to share the Oakley Bus between cases so that, for example, one midiDAC can send key cv and gate signals to many cases.

An idea I just had is to modify the multiples section of the Oakley Router to be used for passing and accepting the bus signals.

Here are my questions:
- Are there jacks that will fit on the Router's pcbs that will easily allow me to solder wires from the bus to the jacks?
- From reading the bit of documentation I have, it seems like I only need to worry about pins 1 and 3 from the bus. I won't be connecting pin 2 to anything. Is this correct?
- Does this sound like a viable solution?


Update:
Instead of requiring a Router module maybe the bus could be connected to banana sockets in the back like the power supply's grounding. But I am still curious about whether or not the pin 2 of the bus needs to be passed from case to case as well.

User avatar
Synthbuilder
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3193
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:12 am
Location: Cumbria, UK

Re: Oakley Router modified for connection to Oakley Bus

Post by Synthbuilder » Sat Apr 17, 2021 2:53 am

waldenpotato wrote:
Fri Apr 16, 2021 11:59 am
Instead of requiring a Router module maybe the bus could be connected to banana sockets in the back like the power supply's grounding. But I am still curious about whether or not the pin 2 of the bus needs to be passed from case to case as well.
Ignore pin 2. It's only there to act as a fire break to prevent crosstalk between the gate and CV signals on the PCB.

I'd recommend using two standard 1/4" sockets, one for CV and one for gate, on the back of each case. Then you can use standard screened patch cables to link the cases together. If you want to save a bit of space, then you could use a single TRS 1/4" socket and use a balanced patch lead to connect the two cases. The tip could be CV and ring connection gate.

The socket's sleeve lug should be 'grounded' to power supply 0V - although if you are using a metal back panel which is already grounded you may need not need to connect the sleeve connection to anything as it is already grounded by virtue of it being fastened to the panel. Use a toothed washer on the socket to ensure good conductivity between the socket and the metalwork.

If you have more than two cases, then you could use multiple sockets on each case. Each socket simply wired in parallel to the other next to it.

Don't use banana plugs as they are unscreened. I'd also avoid using the Router to do this as it will take up valuable front panel space just to pipe around CV/gate.

waldenpotato
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 289
Joined: Sun May 31, 2020 2:19 am

Re: Oakley Router modified for connection to Oakley Bus

Post by waldenpotato » Sat Apr 17, 2021 9:26 pm

Synthbuilder wrote:
Sat Apr 17, 2021 2:53 am
If you want to save a bit of space, then you could use a single TRS 1/4" socket and use a balanced patch lead to connect the two cases. The tip could be CV and ring connection gate.
This is a great idea, thank you. I will explore this.

I will probably add two sockets to each case so I can daisy-chain them.

Post Reply

Return to “Oakley Sound Systems”