"Remix/ReMangle" Contest now open!

Prizes generously donated by:
ADDAC System (Eurorack 3U)
Endorphin.es (Eurorack 3U)
Fred's Lab (DIY Paraphonic Synth)
Northern Light Modular (Buchla-format h-series)
Rattly and Raw (Wiggler Approved Kontakt Instrument)
Studio.h (Buchla-format 4U)

Show us what "remix" means to you! Create, share, vote, win modules & more! Free gifts too!
Join in here!

New Oakley PSU2 board

Discussion and support for users and builders of Oakley Sound musical products.

Moderators: Kent, Synthbuilder

Post Reply
User avatar
Synthbuilder
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3212
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:12 am
Location: Cumbria, UK

New Oakley PSU2 board

Post by Synthbuilder » Mon Dec 17, 2018 9:33 am

Image

Preliminary information here:

http://www.oakleysound.com/psu2.htm

Although the new board is available now it will eventually replace the existing LM723 based PSU design as the venerable LM723 is no longer being made.

The PSU2 board is a different size and the power devices are mounted differently to the PSU. The 3U master panel design can no longer be supported.

Documentation will be ready later this week.

Tony

Purveyor2
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 287
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 6:11 pm
Location: PDX

Re: New Oakley PSU2 board

Post by Purveyor2 » Fri Jul 02, 2021 6:02 pm

Tony,

I’ve run out of juice now that I’ve got 2 3-row cases very full, plus some 1U module conversions due to lack of space. Each case is using a Yamaha PA-30 and a psu2. I mapped the est power need in modular grid and both cases need between 800 - 900mA. Can the psu2 handle an AC supply with higher amperage than the pa-30? If so do they exist? A little time on google and I didn’t find much. I could certainly drop another power supply in a case, but then I’d have to distribute it between the 2 cases. So I figure replacing the both yamahas with more power could be the best approach.

Edit: read the psu2 page again and answered my question about PSU2, up to 1.2A per rail. But could still use a recommendation on a line lump with around 1.8 or 2Amps total as the PA-30 is 1.4

User avatar
Synthbuilder
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3212
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:12 am
Location: Cumbria, UK

Re: New Oakley PSU2 board

Post by Synthbuilder » Sat Jul 03, 2021 4:14 am

Purveyor2 wrote:
Fri Jul 02, 2021 6:02 pm
... could still use a recommendation on a line lump with around 1.8 or 2Amps total as the PA-30 is 1.4.
It is unlikely you'll find one. The Yamaha one is really quite special. One of its features, other than quite a large current output capability, is the small amount of leakage current which means it doesn't need to be earthed.

Personally, I'm a fan of using multiple smaller power supplies rather than trying to get one supply to power everything. I shudder when I see these huge eurorack systems being run from one supply.

For getting larger current from an Oakley PSU the best way is to use a suitably rated internal mains transformer. But this is for experienced builders only as it requires some careful thought about keeping it safe.

Purveyor2
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 287
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 6:11 pm
Location: PDX

Re: New Oakley PSU2 board

Post by Purveyor2 » Sat Jul 03, 2021 10:38 am

Thanks for the input, I’ll add an additional power supply to each case.

Post Reply

Return to “Oakley Sound Systems”