three O three mod

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!
nologin
Wiggling with Experience

three O three mod

Post by nologin »

I've done some 2nd VCO experiments for TB303 and x0b0x. It is largely inspired by x0xi0. I published some videos in French about it:

Sorry, the mod wasn't perfect, i made a mistake on my PCB that i have since rectified... :doh:
But the original idea was rather something for TB303, not x0xb0x. i wanted to do something a bit devilfish, but different. :cloud: And i remember reading what B. Castro wrote in the past on the ladyada forum, TB303 devilfish is great, but it has been done with mods that the power supply can handle, more mods would not be possible because the power supply would weaken. I had read something like that.
I know that the TB303 power supply can handle a 2nd VCO and the xmod between those 2 VCOs. But I don't know how much more mods it can handle. I am not an engineer. :oops:
I found a picture of the inside of the TB303 devilfish, if anyone has opened one, do you know what the 16-lead IC is?
I'm thinking maybe a TL084? I can't read, the image is too small... would allow me to estimate the limit to not exceed, so that the power supply doesn't fail.

I had a bad experience with a mod kit for x0xb0x, it was called atomic mode 2, i think all those extra ICs were too much for the power supply. Logic would have been to add a 2nd 12V source... In the case of the x0xb0x, the TB303 power supply is different, less flexible.

I want to avoid making this kind of mistake, i know that with TB303, i have to make do with the existing power supply and that i can't exceed a certain limit.
Last edited by nologin on Thu Nov 24, 2022 10:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
nologin
Wiggling with Experience

Re: Have you seen the inside of devilfish?

Post by nologin »

Since i didn't get any answers, I'll try to answer myself.