Recommendations for a complete DIY rack

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, Joe.

Pr0fBi0
Learning to Wiggle

Recommendations for a complete DIY rack

Post by Pr0fBi0 » Thu May 20, 2021 4:45 pm

Greetings,

I'm starting to get into Eurorack and I'm a little lost on what modules to get. I know this gets asked often but i'm a little lost.

A little about me so you can kind of get an idea of where I'm coming from and what I'm trying to do.

I've been playing guitar for 25+ years. I own 18+ or so stomp pedals, most built diy because I found it super fun and a cheaper way to try out a ton of pedals I couldn't afford otherwise (king of tone with it's 4+ year wait).

I'm no beginner to synthesis. I own a kork Monologue, Novation circuit, korg volca sample. I have Ableton 11 suite with quite a few add-ons including pigments. so i can play around in synths and make noises. i can usually take a preset and get it to sound how i want but when i play around with modular I find I can make a simple analog synth but get lost when i try to do anything more complicated.

Now what I'm trying to get out of modular is a lot. I want to be able to make some simple playable synths. would love to find a filter that sounds like a moog for funky baselines, I would like to plug my guitar in and use it as a oscillator as well. and i would like to be able to do some randomly generated type soundscapy things. Now i know this seems like a lot but that sums up how i approach everything. A little of everything and not specialize in anything. not sure if that's a bad way to approach modular.