ER-101: Indexed Quad Sequencer

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, Joe.

Post Reply
geetee
Common Wiggler
Posts: 155
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 5:10 am
Location: Iceland

Post by geetee » Mon Nov 12, 2018 5:51 pm

rob_dylan wrote:
void23 wrote:The ER-101 is worth the wait. At least the lead time is better than waiting for a Cirkclon. ;)

Yes, you're right. January is not too far off and it will also give me a bit of time to read up on the module meanwhile.

After watching a few videos on Youtube now, I'm still a bit confused about the ER-102 extender and its function. Is it necessary to have this extender to be able to chain together individual patterns and tracks, to have them loop a certain number of times, before switching to another pattern/track? Is the ER-102 a kind of 'song mode'-module?
er-102 part section is basicly where you set a start, end and a reset point for each of tracks on the er-101.

so that could be a whole pattern, or it could just be a section within a pattern (say step 4 to step 10 or whatever you define). or it could be across multiple patterns: just one part could be 2,3,4 - up to 99 pattern long if you wanted.

so, this how you can build "parts" of your song. so it's more flexible and open ended than just chaining patterns together, which is the more traditional approach in advanced sequencers.

However, the er-102 on it's own cannot sequence the parts into a full composition. you'll need an external sequencer to sequence the parts. that's what the "select" and "activate" inputs are for. "select" is where you put in a cv source where you dial in a voltage to select a certain part, and the "activate" input is expecting a gate signal to play/start the part which you have selected. you can also just do this by hand on the er-102.

User avatar
rob_dylan
Common Wiggler
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2018 10:27 am
Location: Nyland

Post by rob_dylan » Wed Nov 14, 2018 5:15 pm

geetee wrote:er-102 part section is basicly where you set a start, end and a reset point for each of tracks on the er-101.

so that could be a whole pattern, or it could just be a section within a pattern (say step 4 to step 10 or whatever you define). or it could be across multiple patterns: just one part could be 2,3,4 - up to 99 pattern long if you wanted.

so, this how you can build "parts" of your song. so it's more flexible and open ended than just chaining patterns together, which is the more traditional approach in advanced sequencers.

However, the er-102 on it's own cannot sequence the parts into a full composition. you'll need an external sequencer to sequence the parts. that's what the "select" and "activate" inputs are for. "select" is where you put in a cv source where you dial in a voltage to select a certain part, and the "activate" input is expecting a gate signal to play/start the part which you have selected. you can also just do this by hand on the er-102.


Thanks for taking the time trying to explain these things, I appreciate it a lot! I'm continuing to watch and re-watch the ER-101/102 videos available on Youtube, and slowly my brain is coming to terms with how this sequencer works. I really like it and can clearly see its enormous potential.

One thing that came to my mind, concerning the need of another sequencer to control the 'select' and 'activate' inputs on the ER-102: Wouldn't it be possible to, by sacrificing/dedicating one of the 4 tracks on the 101 to all duties related to the 102, sculpt out full length songs, with all the changes they contain, in a controlled way?

geetee
Common Wiggler
Posts: 155
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 5:10 am
Location: Iceland

Post by geetee » Wed Nov 14, 2018 7:45 pm

rob_dylan wrote:
geetee wrote:er-102 part section is basicly where you set a start, end and a reset point for each of tracks on the er-101.

so that could be a whole pattern, or it could just be a section within a pattern (say step 4 to step 10 or whatever you define). or it could be across multiple patterns: just one part could be 2,3,4 - up to 99 pattern long if you wanted.

so, this how you can build "parts" of your song. so it's more flexible and open ended than just chaining patterns together, which is the more traditional approach in advanced sequencers.

However, the er-102 on it's own cannot sequence the parts into a full composition. you'll need an external sequencer to sequence the parts. that's what the "select" and "activate" inputs are for. "select" is where you put in a cv source where you dial in a voltage to select a certain part, and the "activate" input is expecting a gate signal to play/start the part which you have selected. you can also just do this by hand on the er-102.


Thanks for taking the time trying to explain these things, I appreciate it a lot! I'm continuing to watch and re-watch the ER-101/102 videos available on Youtube, and slowly my brain is coming to terms with how this sequencer works. I really like it and can clearly see its enormous potential.

One thing that came to my mind, concerning the need of another sequencer to control the 'select' and 'activate' inputs on the ER-102: Wouldn't it be possible to, by sacrificing/dedicating one of the 4 tracks on the 101 to all duties related to the 102, sculpt out full length songs, with all the changes they contain, in a controlled way?
Oh yeah, that's one thing i forgot to mention :D

but yeah that would be possible, although probably not that easy in practice.

User avatar
Leverkusen
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2417
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 2:26 am
Location: Rungholt

Post by Leverkusen » Wed Nov 14, 2018 10:31 pm

rob_dylan wrote:
geetee wrote:er-102 part section is basicly where you set a start, end and a reset point for each of tracks on the er-101.

so that could be a whole pattern, or it could just be a section within a pattern (say step 4 to step 10 or whatever you define). or it could be across multiple patterns: just one part could be 2,3,4 - up to 99 pattern long if you wanted.

so, this how you can build "parts" of your song. so it's more flexible and open ended than just chaining patterns together, which is the more traditional approach in advanced sequencers.

However, the er-102 on it's own cannot sequence the parts into a full composition. you'll need an external sequencer to sequence the parts. that's what the "select" and "activate" inputs are for. "select" is where you put in a cv source where you dial in a voltage to select a certain part, and the "activate" input is expecting a gate signal to play/start the part which you have selected. you can also just do this by hand on the er-102.


Thanks for taking the time trying to explain these things, I appreciate it a lot! I'm continuing to watch and re-watch the ER-101/102 videos available on Youtube, and slowly my brain is coming to terms with how this sequencer works. I really like it and can clearly see its enormous potential.

One thing that came to my mind, concerning the need of another sequencer to control the 'select' and 'activate' inputs on the ER-102: Wouldn't it be possible to, by sacrificing/dedicating one of the 4 tracks on the 101 to all duties related to the 102, sculpt out full length songs, with all the changes they contain, in a controlled way?
Keep in mind that parts, as set up with the 302, always contain all four tracks. You cannot easily use one track as a master track sequencing the part changes because it would be affected by them too. You might put something like a simple pattern chain together by dividing the clock down for one track and program the transition to the next part to it but it would not be a free running track that could just play something like AABBCABC.

User avatar
rob_dylan
Common Wiggler
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2018 10:27 am
Location: Nyland

Post by rob_dylan » Thu Nov 15, 2018 12:16 am

Leverkusen wrote:Keep in mind that parts, as set up with the 302, always contain all four tracks. You cannot easily use one track as a master track sequencing the part changes because it would be affected by them too. You might put something like a simple pattern chain together by dividing the clock down for one track and program the transition to the next part to it but it would not be a free running track that could just play something like AABBCABC.

I understand what you are saying here and it makes sense. It would also be a shame to have to waste one whole track just to make the sequencer make a simple pattern change at a pre-specified time. But I am probably still missing something here, because it still seems overly complicated just to create a simple string of patterns and having them play together in a similar manner like you mention, AABBCABC, and then having that combination a patterns running in a loop for, let's say 10 times, before the sequencer change to a different set of patterns, like DDEEDDFG for example. I see how these changes can be done manually but wouldn't having "a whole song" running in this kind of way free up both hands for more fun stuff like tweaking filters and adding various live-craziness to the evolving sounds etc.?


Sorry if my question is unclear or obvious. Next up: RTFM!

Portabella
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 456
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2017 4:03 pm
Location: EU/UK

Post by Portabella » Sat Nov 17, 2018 2:07 pm

does the ER-101 reads midi signals?
or do I always have to dial in sequences by hand?

qwertyuiop
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 6:43 pm

Post by qwertyuiop » Sat Nov 17, 2018 6:04 pm

It doesn't understand MIDI. But, the ER-102 expander can load MIDI files and also record cv (so you could use another midi -> cv converter and record a sequence in real time that way).

Jaypee
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1114
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2014 11:46 am

Post by Jaypee » Fri Nov 23, 2018 11:07 am

Just bought an ER 101 and ER 102...you're reading a happy man !!! :party:

Been missing my 101 the second after I sold it. I'm so excited to have an er 102 now! My fav sequencer (with René ofc). So different, so complementary!

Will never sell it again!! <3
"Those aren't your daddy's waveforms " Cynthia Webster

User avatar
ipassenger
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 714
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 3:19 am

Post by ipassenger » Fri Nov 23, 2018 3:13 pm

Leverkusen wrote:
Keep in mind that parts, as set up with the 102, always contain all four tracks. You cannot easily use one track as a master track sequencing the part changes because it would be affected by them too. You might put something like a simple pattern chain together by dividing the clock down for one track and program the transition to the next part to it but it would not be a free running track that could just play something like AABBCABC.
If you use one track as the master control track with no reset, start or end loop points, to control the part numbers for the whole pattern. Then this would work fine and you wouldn't't need any extra sequencer.

So you could have:

Track one: melody, several parts programmed with the reset, start and end loops set to different points in each part.

Track two: bass and otherwise as above

Track three: another musical element

Track four: the master part controller, avoid assigning any part behaviour on this track or it is going to get really confusing but otherwise this effectively becomes your other sequencer/controller sequencer.

User avatar
BTG
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1166
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 4:32 pm
Location: USA

Post by BTG » Fri Nov 23, 2018 6:23 pm

Dealing with an odd issue. I have an ER-101 and 102, both on latest firmware. If the 102 is plugged into the 101, the 102 is stuck with "SY.NC." on its screen and the 101 just says "!4-bit" and no buttons work (and LEDs don't change). If I unplug the 102 from the 101, everything is fine on the 101 and it works like normal.

Cable is definitely plugged in properly, and lots of power. I just uploaded the firmware again just in case.

User avatar
Leverkusen
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2417
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 2:26 am
Location: Rungholt

Post by Leverkusen » Sat Nov 24, 2018 3:28 am

BTG wrote:Dealing with an odd issue. I have an ER-101 and 102, both on latest firmware. If the 102 is plugged into the 101, the 102 is stuck with "SY.NC." on its screen and the 101 just says "!4-bit" and no buttons work (and LEDs don't change). If I unplug the 102 from the 101, everything is fine on the 101 and it works like normal.

Cable is definitely plugged in properly, and lots of power. I just uploaded the firmware again just in case.
In my experience you find the best support with any kind of issue and get very fast response by asking Brian on the forum or sending him a message:

https://forum.orthogonaldevices.com

http://www.orthogonaldevices.com/contact/

Portabella
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 456
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2017 4:03 pm
Location: EU/UK

Post by Portabella » Mon Dec 03, 2018 12:50 pm

Anyone here knows if Brian stopped his business for this year?
Sent him an mail 3 days ago but haven't heard back.
Also he hasn't logged in here at Muffs for over a year..

User avatar
BTG
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1166
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 4:32 pm
Location: USA

Post by BTG » Tue Dec 04, 2018 12:45 am

Portabella wrote:Anyone here knows if Brian stopped his business for this year?
Sent him an mail 3 days ago but haven't heard back.
Also he hasn't logged in here at Muffs for over a year..
He seems active on his forums.

resynthesize
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 305
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 1:29 pm
Contact:

Post by resynthesize » Tue Dec 04, 2018 1:07 am

BTG wrote:Dealing with an odd issue. I have an ER-101 and 102, both on latest firmware. If the 102 is plugged into the 101, the 102 is stuck with "SY.NC." on its screen and the 101 just says "!4-bit" and no buttons work (and LEDs don't change). If I unplug the 102 from the 101, everything is fine on the 101 and it works like normal.

Cable is definitely plugged in properly, and lots of power. I just uploaded the firmware again just in case.
I had that problem awhile back, it ended up being due to me somehow plugging the expansion cable from the 102 into the power bus :doh:

I contacted brian, sent him my unit for repair, and got it back a short while later all fixed and working again.

Portabella
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 456
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2017 4:03 pm
Location: EU/UK

Post by Portabella » Tue Dec 18, 2018 6:05 am

I can't seem to get my 101 into DFU mode for updating its firmware.
It's running 2.03 and I am running OS X 10.13.6

User avatar
BailyDread
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 355
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 12:55 pm

Post by BailyDread » Thu Dec 20, 2018 11:17 am

jsut got my 101 from japan last night! it is beautiful, well made, and an absolute intuitive joy to use. i'm already considering buying another for my next system!!

quick question... any advice on syncing the 101 to a beatstep pro? when I send the reset from the drum out, there is some weird behavior going on. im thinking maybe a gate out from pamelas new workout may be better for the reset? hmmmm

User avatar
Ushijima
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 480
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 2:37 pm
Location: BZH

Post by Ushijima » Thu Dec 20, 2018 1:36 pm

BailyDread wrote:jsut got my 101 from japan last night! it is beautiful, well made, and an absolute intuitive joy to use. i'm already considering buying another for my next system!!

quick question... any advice on syncing the 101 to a beatstep pro? when I send the reset from the drum out, there is some weird behavior going on. im thinking maybe a gate out from pamelas new workout may be better for the reset? hmmmm
https://forum.orthogonaldevices.com/t/l ... p-pro/2011

Looks like someone already had your strange reset behaviour.
Is it similar to his problem ?

User avatar
BailyDread
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 355
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 12:55 pm

Post by BailyDread » Thu Dec 20, 2018 2:00 pm

Zerius wrote:
BailyDread wrote:jsut got my 101 from japan last night! it is beautiful, well made, and an absolute intuitive joy to use. i'm already considering buying another for my next system!!

quick question... any advice on syncing the 101 to a beatstep pro? when I send the reset from the drum out, there is some weird behavior going on. im thinking maybe a gate out from pamelas new workout may be better for the reset? hmmmm
https://forum.orthogonaldevices.com/t/l ... p-pro/2011

Looks like someone already had your strange reset behaviour.
Is it similar to his problem ?
yes, i saw that thread too but figured it wouldn't hurt to ask here. i'm pretty sure it's the exact same problem, really... was wondering if anyone had a workaround.

might be just one more thing about the BSP to be disappointed by... between this and the sudden change of analog clock in stuff w/ the firmware update, can't say i'm too pleased with arturia at the moment.

User avatar
Mend
Common Wiggler
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2017 10:03 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Mend » Sun Dec 23, 2018 3:54 pm

Hello. Was wondering if there's anyone there from the Netherlands who's bought the ER101. Would like to buy it in january, but I'd like to hear about first hand experiences with import taxes. Super psyched about this seq, but also a bit hesitant because of importing.

User avatar
Yloopz
Common Wiggler
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 4:27 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Yloopz » Sun Dec 23, 2018 4:12 pm

Mend wrote:Hello. Was wondering if there's anyone there from the Netherlands who's bought the ER101. Would like to buy it in january, but I'd like to hear about first hand experiences with import taxes. Super psyched about this seq, but also a bit hesitant because of importing.
I bought a 301 a couple of months ago and had to pay 21% taxes of the selling price at the postoffice to get it. I knew I had to so had calculated that before. Just calculate it beforehand to avoid surprices.
My imagination is my inspiration...
Instagram: @jungleofwires

User avatar
Mend
Common Wiggler
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2017 10:03 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Mend » Sun Dec 23, 2018 6:10 pm

Yloopz wrote:
Mend wrote:Hello. Was wondering if there's anyone there from the Netherlands who's bought the ER101. Would like to buy it in january, but I'd like to hear about first hand experiences with import taxes. Super psyched about this seq, but also a bit hesitant because of importing.
I bought a 301 a couple of months ago and had to pay 21% taxes of the selling price at the postoffice to get it. I knew I had to so had calculated that before. Just calculate it beforehand to avoid surprices.
So basically the $600 is excluding taxes? I'm trying to get this right. $600 + possible 21% taxes? Or is it always $600 + 21%?

User avatar
BailyDread
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 355
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 12:55 pm

Post by BailyDread » Mon Dec 24, 2018 9:30 pm

happy to report that the er-101 is launching play and resetting perfectly when the reset signal is a gate from Pamelas new workout. pam's clocked by BSP.

my clocking chain:

expert sleepers USAMO->MIDI in to beat step pro -> bsp clock out->buffered mult->clock into er-101/clock into pam's new workout-> 1/32 gate out of pam -> reset of er-101

finally have tight sequencing and clocking to daw!!

also, the er-101 clocks tight to the USAMO's shuffle function :love: how cool is that!! :hihi:

Portabella
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 456
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2017 4:03 pm
Location: EU/UK

Post by Portabella » Mon Jan 07, 2019 5:37 am

a quick question: how can I change the tracks clock division or multiplier?
the manual says WHAT it can do but now how ..
wondering what the button combination is? :despair:

Jaypee
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1114
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2014 11:46 am

Post by Jaypee » Mon Jan 07, 2019 5:47 am

To get to the multiply and divide settings you need to choose the track first (focus track button and turn left encoder). Then press the Track focus button again to get to the track settings page.

Once here focus the Step Button to set the multiplier value using the left encoder and focus the Duration button to set the division value using the right encoder.
"Those aren't your daddy's waveforms " Cynthia Webster

Portabella
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 456
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2017 4:03 pm
Location: EU/UK

Post by Portabella » Fri Apr 12, 2019 10:18 am

Dear all,

I found this video of the 101 on youtube playing Bach!


I was pretty amazed and baffled about how much work this must have been to dial in all those notes... until I read the comments.
The uploaded claims that he's written a program which converts MIDI to xlm file which the 101 can read and play.
Is that possible?
There seem to be various MIDI to xlm converter even online, like this:
http://flashmusicgames.com/midi/mid2xml.php

but even if I had a xlm file, how do I get it onto my 101 and how do I tell the unit where to save it

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”