Doepfer A-156 Dual Quantizer????

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, Joe.

User avatar
wbelote
Common Wiggler
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 1:45 am
Location: LA area

Post by wbelote » Tue Mar 20, 2012 3:41 pm

artisokka wrote:
From the manual: "Whenever a quantisation happens (i.e. a new voltage is generated at the CV Out) a positive pulse occurs at this output. It may be used to trigger an envelope generator (ADSR) or for triggering other modules (sequential switch A-151, trigger divider/sequencer A-160/161, trigger delay A-162, ...). If none of these functions are used the jack is left open."
Thank you artisokka And I'm always telling my wife to read the manual!

Thank you also fireclown and Papercutnoise for your input. Can't wait to get home and try some of this.
P. Willstar: Making electrons do their part.

User avatar
chvad
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3412
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 9:23 am
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Contact:

Post by chvad » Tue Mar 20, 2012 4:09 pm

keep in mind, if it doesn't quantize, a trigger isn't fired... so if you pump the same value into it twice there is no second trigger

User avatar
WeepWow
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 5:58 pm
Location: Ohio, USA

Post by WeepWow » Sat May 19, 2018 6:21 pm

Can someone please tell me what the best thing to plug into the A-156 'Transpose In', (besides a keyboard) nothing seems to be making any noticeable or effective scale changes etc. I am definitely missing something. Thanks!

User avatar
dubonaire
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 8196
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 10:45 pm

Post by dubonaire » Sun May 20, 2018 2:22 am

WeepWow wrote:Can someone please tell me what the best thing to plug into the A-156 'Transpose In', (besides a keyboard) nothing seems to be making any noticeable or effective scale changes etc. I am definitely missing something. Thanks!
1 volt per octave into the transpose input should transpose the both quantizers one octave up. Transpose inputs are quantized to the nearest semitone.

R.U.Nuts
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2102
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 5:43 pm

Post by R.U.Nuts » Sun May 20, 2018 6:09 am

dubonaire wrote:
WeepWow wrote:Can someone please tell me what the best thing to plug into the A-156 'Transpose In', (besides a keyboard) nothing seems to be making any noticeable or effective scale changes etc. I am definitely missing something. Thanks!
1 volt per octave into the transpose input should transpose the both quantizers one octave up. Transpose inputs are quantized to the nearest semitone.
The A-156 only senses positive voltages. So if you send it a bipolar signal like an LFO it'll do nothing while the LFO is in it's negative halfwave. So unipolar positive voltages should be best.

User avatar
WeepWow
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 5:58 pm
Location: Ohio, USA

Post by WeepWow » Sun May 20, 2018 8:13 am

Thanks Dub and R.U.
sounds like I need to rebuy Pressure Points or similar, also have an Arturia Keystep I can try (hate taking up the desk space).

User avatar
dubonaire
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 8196
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 10:45 pm

Post by dubonaire » Mon May 21, 2018 12:44 am

dp
Last edited by dubonaire on Mon May 21, 2018 12:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
dubonaire
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 8196
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 10:45 pm

Post by dubonaire » Mon May 21, 2018 12:44 am

WeepWow wrote:Thanks Dub and R.U.
sounds like I need to rebuy Pressure Points or similar, also have an Arturia Keystep I can try (hate taking up the desk space).
Why don't you try using your A-143-2, setting different sustain levels, and you can use your sample and hold and your clock divider to give you various gate lengths.

You could also use your switches and your sequencer as well.

toonertik
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2019 4:14 am

Post by toonertik » Fri Oct 04, 2019 2:09 pm

R.U.Nuts wrote:
dubonaire wrote:
WeepWow wrote:Can someone please tell me what the best thing to plug into the A-156 'Transpose In', (besides a keyboard) nothing seems to be making any noticeable or effective scale changes etc. I am definitely missing something. Thanks!
1 volt per octave into the transpose input should transpose the both quantizers one octave up. Transpose inputs are quantized to the nearest semitone.
The A-156 only senses positive voltages. So if you send it a bipolar signal like an LFO it'll do nothing while the LFO is in it's negative halfwave. So unipolar positive voltages should be best.
Phew... thanks for that... I just got mine and tried using the A-185-2 to lower the octave with negative volt, as I had been doing with my Disting . Thought the 156 might have been faulty.

User avatar
Mark II
Common Wiggler
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2017 2:56 pm
Location: Tilbury, on a chair

Post by Mark II » Sat Oct 05, 2019 3:13 am

I love the straightforwardness of the a-156. Have an ADDAC207 for more scale options.
The thing is to put a motor in yourself - fz

User avatar
Virustian
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 6:46 am

Re: Doepfer A-156 Dual Quantizer????

Post by Virustian » Fri May 22, 2020 7:01 am

In my freshly aquired A-156 I've noticed a problem with the transpose function, if I feed a cv from my qunexus to the quantizer transpose input ,sometimes (frequently) it shifts up the sequence a semitone and then returns to normal. Never had a problem with my qunexus, seems like a doepfer issue. Can anybody confirm this behaviour?

User avatar
3hands
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2208
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2018 6:36 pm
Location: Ottawa Ontario

Re: Doepfer A-156 Dual Quantizer????

Post by 3hands » Fri Nov 27, 2020 9:08 pm

Virustian wrote:
Fri May 22, 2020 7:01 am
In my freshly aquired A-156 I've noticed a problem with the transpose function, if I feed a cv from my qunexus to the quantizer transpose input ,sometimes (frequently) it shifts up the sequence a semitone and then returns to normal. Never had a problem with my qunexus, seems like a doepfer issue. Can anybody confirm this behaviour?

Did you ever figure this out? I’ve just purchased one, and will be able to give it a go once I get it, to see if I’m getting the same behaviour.
Gum is fun, but not on a cat.

My minds an art gallery.

R.U.Nuts
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2102
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 5:43 pm

Re:

Post by R.U.Nuts » Sat Nov 28, 2020 7:01 am

fireclown wrote:
Tue Mar 20, 2012 1:15 am
wbelote wrote:
papercutnoise wrote:My A-156 gets used in almost every patch. The Trigger in/out options are extremely useful too. Plus you get 2 quantizers in the 1 module. To be honest having both a uScale and an A-156 in one system would be amazing.
I've got both and am just barely getting to know them. Is the trigger out on the a-156 some are raving about sending triggers on each note received.
as I use them the trigger in comes from whatever clock rate or trigger outs from a given seq setup and sometimes use the outs to chase through those clock rate/trigs into another switch to do whatever.
I wouldnt expect the trigger out to work or be useful without an input trigger plugged in. its mainly to sync quantization with note changes.
if im not mistaken.
works pretty darn good and cost effectively.
ive got two and look forward to getting a uscale someday!
You can get pretty creative with the trigger out. For example you can use a manual controller like a joystick or an LFO as input for the A-156 and use the trigger out for envelopes. Or you can take a noise source attenuate it heavily and plug that into the A-156. The trigger out will output digital noise. The more you attenuate the noise at the input the less dense the digital noise becomes.
Or you can use the trigger output as a clock multiplier. Feed your clock signal into the A-156 CV input. Now the trigger out will fire on each rising and each falling edge of the clock signal making it effectively a x2 clock multiplier. There are some more ninja tricks you can do with the trigger out...
Maybe you could call the trigger output a multi window, single output comparator...

User avatar
megarat
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 613
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2019 4:09 pm
Location: Hyperborean Hinterlands

Re: Doepfer A-156 Dual Quantizer????

Post by megarat » Mon Nov 30, 2020 1:49 am

3hands wrote:
Fri Nov 27, 2020 9:08 pm
Virustian wrote:
Fri May 22, 2020 7:01 am
In my freshly aquired A-156 I've noticed a problem with the transpose function, if I feed a cv from my qunexus to the quantizer transpose input ,sometimes (frequently) it shifts up the sequence a semitone and then returns to normal. Never had a problem with my qunexus, seems like a doepfer issue. Can anybody confirm this behaviour?

Did you ever figure this out? I’ve just purchased one, and will be able to give it a go once I get it, to see if I’m getting the same behaviour.
I use the transpose input all the time on my A-156 and it works great (although I don’t use a QuNexus). One important detail about all of the inputs on the A-156 is that they’re expecting 0-10V and negative voltages are ignored. So if you’re trying to transpose it with a negative offset, it won’t work.

The transpose input seems to be primarily intended to shift the module’s scale to a root note other than C, by moving it in a positive direction, making it less useful for on-the-fly key/chord changes. I recommend a precision adder for that. But if you really want to transpose down with the A-156, you can do this by tuning your incoming signal down an octave, and then shifting your transpose CV up one volt.

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”