Do I need an M303?

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, Joe.

mat1
Common Wiggler
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 6:57 am

Do I need an M303?

Post by mat1 » Sat May 29, 2021 5:45 pm

Image

This is my current rig. I'd like to get some convincing sounding acid lines out of it but haven't quite got there. My gut tells me I should have enough modules to approximate a 303 line.

There is something appealing about having a full voice with everything sounding correct off the bat though. Only issue is the price.

What do you guys think? work with what I've got or get the m303?

User avatar
insoul8
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1126
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2017 11:48 am
Location: Washington, DC

Re: Do I need an M303?

Post by insoul8 » Sat May 29, 2021 6:08 pm

I couldn’t really get the particular 303 acid sound I wanted without it, but there are plenty of other ways to get a squelchy filter. My QPAS is great for acidic stuff. As is my QMMG. The Atlantis was fantastic for acid too but I needed the real estate so I sold it. Isn’t there a cheap 303 Doepfer filter you could try? At any rate, I do like my M303 quite a bit but it is on the expensive side.

For a 303 in particular it’s more about the sequencer in my experience.
Last edited by insoul8 on Sat May 29, 2021 6:14 pm, edited 2 times in total.

bluesmoke
Common Wiggler
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2020 6:24 am

Re: Do I need an M303?

Post by bluesmoke » Sat May 29, 2021 6:11 pm

Some of the best acid traxx were not produced with a 303. The Neutron should get you there but won't be able to exactly replicate a 303. Unless you need to perfectly nail the sound of a 303 experiment with what you have first.

User avatar
[desYpfa]
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2020 2:16 pm

Re: Do I need an M303?

Post by [desYpfa] » Sat May 29, 2021 6:36 pm

What about the Erica Bassline module?

I've gotten some decent 303/acid type patterns out of the Nano ONA OSC w/ the QuBit Prism VCF/LPF, but it takes some work.

User avatar
bemushroomed
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2807
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 10:30 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Do I need an M303?

Post by bemushroomed » Sat May 29, 2021 6:39 pm

if you want genuine acid sound then don't get the m303 because it does not sound even close to a TB303. Just get the Behring TD3 for a TON less... i think i saw it for like 70 euro on Thomann, it's nothing.. and sure, you can only clock it from the euro, but it'll still sound like proper acid.. the only thing in euro which sounds like a TB303 is either the x0xheart or the Dinsync stuff, vcf303 + osc.

Much of the sound in acid is in the sequencer though, at least 50% of the sound, if not more.. the right slide, the right accent.. that's what makes it like an acid groove. for that you need e.g the stepper acid sequencer too, it gets expensive and big. so in comparison 70 euro for the behringer or 700 euro for something in eurorack if you also want a sequencer that can make proper acid.. its not a difficult choice.

User avatar
brandonlogic
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3148
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 9:17 am
Location: Milwaukee WI

Re: Do I need an M303?

Post by brandonlogic » Sat May 29, 2021 7:00 pm

You can get a behringer TD 3 for under $150
Just get one, it’s so worth it, seriously.. under $150 you can’t go wrong. It can sync to a modular clock and cv control of the filter.
I had the m303 in the past but I like having the TD3 so much more…
Like mentioned above, much about the 303 “sound” is actually the quirky sequencer. It’s like the definition of happy accidents, and you’ll get patterns out of it you just wouldn’t purposely make any other way.

kwaidan
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1960
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 3:14 pm

Re: Do I need an M303?

Post by kwaidan » Sat May 29, 2021 7:28 pm

To get the best results from the M303, you really need to use the Autobot sequencer by Acidlab. I’ve tried other sequencers with it, including the Stepper Acid, and none of them sound as good. Also, the XOX Heart does sound closer to the original, but given the price of the Berhinger, I’ve got to go with the crowd. The TD3 really does sound great, leaving you with extra money to spend elsewhere.

User avatar
insoul8
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1126
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2017 11:48 am
Location: Washington, DC

Re: Do I need an M303?

Post by insoul8 » Sat May 29, 2021 7:46 pm

bemushroomed wrote:
Sat May 29, 2021 6:39 pm
if you want genuine acid sound then don't get the m303 because it does not sound even close to a TB303.
I’m going to have to disagree with you on that one. And this is coming from someone who had a real 303. It’s pretty damn close. I haven’t heard the Behringer in person but the M303 with the right sequencer is spot on for me. At any rate, basically any 303 clone is going to get you there so it just comes down to how much money you want to spend and whether or not you want it in euro. Of course euro will be a much more expensive option when you add something like a stepper acid or copper traces seek.

User avatar
brandonlogic
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3148
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 9:17 am
Location: Milwaukee WI

Re: Do I need an M303?

Post by brandonlogic » Sat May 29, 2021 8:37 pm

$110 brand new. ubly green but who cares at that price :lol:
https://reverb.com/item/38108778-behrin ... sizer-lime
and they have the black one for $130

User avatar
emojiseq
Common Wiggler
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 3:15 am

Re: Do I need an M303?

Post by emojiseq » Sat May 29, 2021 8:52 pm

vcf 303 is very good too

User avatar
oilpanic
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2017 4:27 am
Location: Petaluma CA

Re: Do I need an M303?

Post by oilpanic » Sat May 29, 2021 9:35 pm

Slide and accent is key for the 303 sound. I would look at that slide/gate module from WMD.

User avatar
insoul8
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1126
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2017 11:48 am
Location: Washington, DC

Re: Do I need an M303?

Post by insoul8 » Sat May 29, 2021 10:41 pm

oilpanic wrote:
Sat May 29, 2021 9:35 pm
Slide and accent is key for the 303 sound. I would look at that slide/gate module from WMD.
Do you mean that expander for the metron sequencer? Or did they have something standalone?

User avatar
lisa
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 5769
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:00 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Do I need an M303?

Post by lisa » Sat May 29, 2021 11:35 pm

insoul8 wrote:
Sat May 29, 2021 10:41 pm
oilpanic wrote:
Sat May 29, 2021 9:35 pm
Slide and accent is key for the 303 sound. I would look at that slide/gate module from WMD.
Do you mean that expander for the metron sequencer? Or did they have something standalone?
WMD Time Warp: https://wmdevices.com/products/time-warp
I made this techno remix of an ambient/downtempo track. 🧉


User avatar
Red Electric Rainbow
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3430
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 7:48 am
Location: Chicago

Re: Do I need an M303?

Post by Red Electric Rainbow » Sat May 29, 2021 11:41 pm

bluesmoke wrote:
Sat May 29, 2021 6:11 pm
Some of the best acid traxx were not produced with a 303.
kinda subjective and how are you sure your approximation is accurate?
TOO FAR GONE

User avatar
insoul8
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1126
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2017 11:48 am
Location: Washington, DC

Re: Do I need an M303?

Post by insoul8 » Sun May 30, 2021 12:53 am

lisa wrote:
Sat May 29, 2021 11:35 pm
insoul8 wrote:
Sat May 29, 2021 10:41 pm
oilpanic wrote:
Sat May 29, 2021 9:35 pm
Slide and accent is key for the 303 sound. I would look at that slide/gate module from WMD.
Do you mean that expander for the metron sequencer? Or did they have something standalone?
WMD Time Warp: https://wmdevices.com/products/time-warp
:tu:

User avatar
bemushroomed
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2807
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 10:30 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Do I need an M303?

Post by bemushroomed » Sun May 30, 2021 7:46 am

insoul8 wrote:
Sat May 29, 2021 7:46 pm
bemushroomed wrote:
Sat May 29, 2021 6:39 pm
if you want genuine acid sound then don't get the m303 because it does not sound even close to a TB303.
I’m going to have to disagree with you on that one. And this is coming from someone who had a real 303. It’s pretty damn close.
Nah, not mine at least.. it did however make a really nice (very round and bouncy/spongy) bass sound, i'll give them that, nothing like a 303 though.

acidvoice.com gives acidlab a rather low rating too, around a 6 if i remember correctly, which imo is very generous. x0xbox is rated high, which i agree with, it's very close. you can do a side by side comparison with the original and tons of acid machines there.

User avatar
acidbob
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2932
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 2:48 am
Location: Denmark

Re: Do I need an M303?

Post by acidbob » Sun May 30, 2021 8:43 am

I can only speak from having owned a bassline 3 and I would say get the Behringer TD3.

Having said that, I think people have different opinions about what a real 303 should sound like and TD3 does not disappoint and it has the sequencer and CV/Gate out.

Personally I went for the MAM MB33 retro as this is the sound I wanted.

bluesmoke
Common Wiggler
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2020 6:24 am

Re: Do I need an M303?

Post by bluesmoke » Sun May 30, 2021 8:58 am

Red Electric Rainbow wrote:
Sat May 29, 2021 11:41 pm
bluesmoke wrote:
Sat May 29, 2021 6:11 pm
Some of the best acid traxx were not produced with a 303.
kinda subjective and how are you sure your approximation is accurate?
It doesn't need to

User avatar
Red Electric Rainbow
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3430
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 7:48 am
Location: Chicago

Re: Do I need an M303?

Post by Red Electric Rainbow » Sun May 30, 2021 10:10 am

bluesmoke wrote:
Sun May 30, 2021 8:58 am
Red Electric Rainbow wrote:
Sat May 29, 2021 11:41 pm
bluesmoke wrote:
Sat May 29, 2021 6:11 pm
Some of the best acid traxx were not produced with a 303.
kinda subjective and how are you sure your approximation is accurate?
It doesn't need to
so what you’re saying is you have absolutely nothing to base your claim on? classic.
TOO FAR GONE

mat1
Common Wiggler
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 6:57 am

Re: Do I need an M303?

Post by mat1 » Sun May 30, 2021 11:23 am

brandonlogic wrote:
Sat May 29, 2021 7:00 pm
You can get a behringer TD 3 for under $150
Just get one, it’s so worth it, seriously.. under $150 you can’t go wrong. It can sync to a modular clock and cv control of the filter.
I had the m303 in the past but I like having the TD3 so much more…
Like mentioned above, much about the 303 “sound” is actually the quirky sequencer.
I actually already have a TD3, very cool when it works but I can’t stand the sequencer. I think because I don’t usually start my tracks with a 303 line that kind of sequencing mid writing session is a real vibe killer.

From what I understand the glide and accent behaviour are really important.

mat1
Common Wiggler
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 6:57 am

Re: Do I need an M303?

Post by mat1 » Sun May 30, 2021 11:36 am

oilpanic wrote:
Sat May 29, 2021 9:35 pm
Slide and accent is key for the 303 sound. I would look at that slide/gate module from WMD.
Is the slide going to be different to the glide on my black sequencer?

User avatar
Kosmikos
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 435
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2020 1:21 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Do I need an M303?

Post by Kosmikos » Sun May 30, 2021 11:57 am

mat1 wrote:
Sun May 30, 2021 11:36 am
oilpanic wrote:
Sat May 29, 2021 9:35 pm
Slide and accent is key for the 303 sound. I would look at that slide/gate module from WMD.
Is the slide going to be different to the glide on my black sequencer?
I think it is unfortunately, but not by much. You can get some nice acid lines out of a Black Sequencer too, especially by using the mod for accent or filter.

I agree with the other posters, a TD3 is probably the easiest/cheapest way to get there, but it copies the TB sequencer idiosyncrasies too, which can either be a big turn off, or the correct way to do it depending on your state of mind.

I’ll throw in the mix the WMD Arpitecht’s for sequencing, it’s got an integrated slide, and you can patch it out to use for accents too. I really love mine, and even stopped using my Black Sequencer for a while after getting it.
Also from WMD, check out Javelin as it can do some cool accentuation that you wouldn’t get out of a regular ADSR or from your Black Sequencer.

Finally I use a Pico Voice for my bassline sound. Nobody ever mention it, but It’s got a pretty good digital emulation of the classic TB base square and saw that you will find hard to get with another VCO, and bonus it can also do other things.

User avatar
brandonlogic
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3148
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 9:17 am
Location: Milwaukee WI

Re: Do I need an M303?

Post by brandonlogic » Sun May 30, 2021 12:16 pm

mat1 wrote:
Sun May 30, 2021 11:23 am
brandonlogic wrote:
Sat May 29, 2021 7:00 pm
You can get a behringer TD 3 for under $150
Just get one, it’s so worth it, seriously.. under $150 you can’t go wrong. It can sync to a modular clock and cv control of the filter.
I had the m303 in the past but I like having the TD3 so much more…
Like mentioned above, much about the 303 “sound” is actually the quirky sequencer.
I actually already have a TD3, very cool when it works but I can’t stand the sequencer. I think because I don’t usually start my tracks with a 303 line that kind of sequencing mid writing session is a real vibe killer.

From what I understand the glide and accent behaviour are really important.
Just learn to work with the td3 you already have… Most classic acid tracks/artists used the 303 and much of its charm is a result of it’s quirks, especially the sequencer. Embrace it. Figure out how to work with it. Your not going to find better options in eurorack if your trying to write acid. You already have something extremely close to the exact machine your inspired by.

User avatar
bemushroomed
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2807
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 10:30 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Do I need an M303?

Post by bemushroomed » Sun May 30, 2021 12:29 pm

brandonlogic wrote:
Sun May 30, 2021 12:16 pm

Just learn to work with the td3 you already have… Most classic acid tracks/artists used the 303 and much of its charm is a result of it’s quirks, especially the sequencer. Embrace it. Figure out how to work with it. Your not going to find better options in eurorack if your trying to write acid. You already have something extremely close to the exact machine your inspired by.
I agree.. it's also not like you have to use its sequencer, you can even write sequences using the computer and transfer them to the TD3. The program that it comes with is super easy to use, requires no training like the built in sequencer.

User avatar
brandonlogic
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3148
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 9:17 am
Location: Milwaukee WI

Re: Do I need an M303?

Post by brandonlogic » Sun May 30, 2021 12:38 pm

^for sure!

I actually like the sequencer, I like to use it in a semi random way. Find a scale of notes that works with what I’m working on, punch in a quick sequence without thinking about it too much, then kind of randomly add some accents, rests and slides, and usually come out with some awesome, useful sequences. Also so easy to make variations of a sequence just putting the accents and slides in different places. It’s amazing how different a sequence can be just having to those in slightly different places.
It’s super inspiring to work with and super unique.

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”