Instruo arbhar granular processor

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, Joe.

Post Reply
User avatar
Shakespeare
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 311
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 12:32 pm
Location: Clinton, NY

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by Shakespeare » Sat Aug 01, 2020 10:06 am

^^ Yes, this track is just lovely. Nice work.

buyingitwontmakeucool
Common Wiggler
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 6:10 am

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by buyingitwontmakeucool » Wed Aug 05, 2020 8:32 am

arbhar Firmware 1.6.d (Latest Version)

Addressed audio throughput glitches that appear in 1.6.b and 1.6.c
Addressed reverse grain playback windowing
Corrected behaviour of Intensity control that appeared in 1.6.c
Improved Strike CV response to allow faster continuous triggers.
Implemented algorithm to create a dependency between set grain length and maximum trigger rate of second grain engine.
Various smaller bug fixes and algorithm adjustments.
Known Issues:
Strike Button LED might not fully reflect the actual triggering rate of grains when trigger pulses are less than 12ms.
Fast and extreme texture changes might result in audible zipping artefacts

osten
Common Wiggler
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2020 6:19 am

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by osten » Wed Aug 05, 2020 2:13 pm

:yay: :sb: Will give this a whirl!!

User avatar
JCM
Common Wiggler
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 6:27 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by JCM » Fri Aug 07, 2020 3:02 pm

I’m really happy with my decision to sell my Clouds and grab this. Love the easy access to buffers and the accessibility to all layers feature. Sound quality is great and the way the module handles pitch and grain envelopes is excellent.

Any tips on getting something close to a continuously updating buffer? I can’t seem to get anything to work like I’d expect in Follow mode. Sense and Onset doesn’t seem to retrigger recording at any setting like expected when in the Alpha or Beta Onset modes. I’ll have a constant sound patched in which does start an initial Capture, but will only start Capture again only after I’ve changed a setting on the module by hand (but not with modulation). Is there something in the config file to help with this? Or a way to patch this that I’m missing? I was hoping a constant high gate would do it but no.

djd_oz
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 603
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 7:58 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by djd_oz » Fri Aug 07, 2020 5:04 pm

Yes, use follow mode, patch signal to onset, sense and hold to max, adjust scan so that it follows the record head (around 10'oclock), adjust spray, length and intensity to taste.
Last edited by djd_oz on Mon Aug 10, 2020 4:43 am, edited 2 times in total.

djd_oz
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 603
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 7:58 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by djd_oz » Fri Aug 07, 2020 5:21 pm

Double post

User avatar
aintnopicnic
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2016 4:17 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by aintnopicnic » Sat Aug 08, 2020 2:29 pm

Firmware 1.6.d fixed my audio dropout issues.
Thank you Jason.

User avatar
MikeLeeBirds
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 2:59 am

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by MikeLeeBirds » Sun Aug 09, 2020 6:24 am

My Arbhar has become unresponsive, displaying a beautiful rainbow and the forward/reverse LEDs flashing simultaneously.
It was plugged in correctly and worked before.
Any ideas?
Attachments
AF3994D3-9040-48F5-80F4-3DC1AD06843A.jpeg

slexer
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 6:06 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by slexer » Sun Aug 09, 2020 7:47 am

Power cycle should rectify it, the arbhar went into calibration mode.

If that happens again, maybe check whether any of the buttons got stuck, avoid pressing any buttons, and update to the latest firmware 1.6.d. Contact us, if nothing of the above helps.

User avatar
MikeLeeBirds
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 2:59 am

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by MikeLeeBirds » Sun Aug 09, 2020 9:20 am

Sebastian, thanks for your quick answer (also on Facebook)!
After a power cycle it was still in calibration mode. I‘ll check the buttons and do it again.

User avatar
MikeLeeBirds
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 2:59 am

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by MikeLeeBirds » Mon Aug 10, 2020 4:37 am

Updating the firmware brought Arbhar back to normal operation mode.
It would still be interesting to know why it went into calibration mode in the first place.

User avatar
chriscarter
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 9:22 am
Location: East Anglia, UK
Contact:

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by chriscarter » Mon Aug 10, 2020 6:38 am

MikeLeeBirds wrote:
Mon Aug 10, 2020 4:37 am
Updating the firmware brought Arbhar back to normal operation mode.
It would still be interesting to know why it went into calibration mode in the first place.
Yes I've had this too after swapping some Instruo modules around in one of my cabinets. When I turned everything back on both my Arbhar and Lúbadh were in some odd state and wouldn't respond. Repeated booting/rebooting wouldn't revive either but updating their firmware brought them both back to normal operation.
:despair:

User avatar
MikeLeeBirds
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 2:59 am

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by MikeLeeBirds » Mon Aug 10, 2020 8:21 am

chriscarter wrote:
Mon Aug 10, 2020 6:38 am

Yes I've had this too after swapping some Instruo modules around in one of my cabinets. When I turned everything back on both my Arbhar and Lúbadh were in some odd state and wouldn't respond. Repeated booting/rebooting wouldn't revive either but updating their firmware brought them both back to normal operation.
:despair:
Jason is trying to figure out what may be the cause of this. I‘ll update when new information is available.

joskery
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 597
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by joskery » Mon Aug 10, 2020 9:09 am

I’m kind of perplexed by the intensity knob. I figured if I turn it almost fully clockwise, I’d get a grain every now and then. Instead, I get grains at a breakneck speed, but their volume is lesser. Is there some way of achieving the behavior I’m hoping for? I saw the configuration options, but unfortunately couldn’t really understand them by reading the description and trying them out.

User avatar
MikeLeeBirds
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 2:59 am

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by MikeLeeBirds » Mon Aug 10, 2020 11:56 am

That is odd. With the intensity knob fully CW or CCW you should not be getting any grains at all. The intensity is highest at 12 o‘clock, so close to fully CW the behavior should be as you‘d expect.
One way to trigger grains less often is to increase grain size. That in combination with a lower intensity setting will result in more space between the grains.

The behavior of your intensity parameter puzzles me, though. Unless some wiggler here knows the solution I’d recommend shooting Jason an email. He usually responds quite quickly and no one knows what might be going on better than he.

joskery
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 597
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by joskery » Mon Aug 10, 2020 12:00 pm

MikeLeeBirds wrote:
Mon Aug 10, 2020 11:56 am
That is odd. With the intensity knob fully CW or CCW you should not be getting any grains at all. The intensity is highest at 12 o‘clock.
One way to trigger grains less often is to increase grain size. That in combination with a lower intensity setting will result in more space between the grains.

Your description puzzles me, though, because of what I wrote in the beginning.
Oh, to clarify, going full CW or CCW is indeed grainless territory. But there's no 'a grain every now and then' setting when the intensity knob is ALMOST CW, at least with smaller grain lengths it's pretty full-on grain warfare as soon as it 'kicks in', so to speak.

User avatar
myworstenemy
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2019 10:49 am
Location: Tampa

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by myworstenemy » Wed Aug 12, 2020 4:28 pm

I don't seem to be getting visual feedback from the > % < function at all. Pretty new to this module but when it is set to 50/50% chance to play grains forward or backward, I do not see a representation. I can confirm the lights do come on when the length knob is turned all the way CCW to the left. Still exploring this module but it seems like every other video I have seen does show which direction the grains are playing.
I came here for the deetz411.

djd_oz
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 603
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 7:58 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by djd_oz » Wed Aug 12, 2020 9:32 pm

joskery wrote:
Mon Aug 10, 2020 12:00 pm
Oh, to clarify, going full CW or CCW is indeed grainless territory. But there's no 'a grain every now and then' setting when the intensity knob is ALMOST CW, at least with smaller grain lengths it's pretty full-on grain warfare as soon as it 'kicks in', so to speak.
I believe this is described in the manual,
Intensity: The Intensity parameter sets the amount of generated grains
from the Continuous Granular Engine.
• The maximum number of grains are generated when the knob is in
its centre position.
• Turning the knob anticlockwise from its centre position will decrease
the number of grains. Any knob setting anticlockwise of its centre
position will generate grains at the same amplitude and set a
synchronous grain generation pattern.
• Turning the knob clockwise from its centre position will decrease the
number of grains. Any knob setting clockwise of its centre position
will generate grains at random amplitudes and set asynchronous
grain generation. Random amplitude and asynchronous grain
generation settings can be adjusted in the arbhar_config.txt file (See
the arbhar_config.txt section of the manual for more information).
• Turning the knob to either of its extreme settings will turn off the
Continuous Granular Engine. In these settings, the Strike Button and
Strike Input can be used for time-synchronized grain generation via
the Strike Granular Engine.
• When changing the Intensity parameter, all currently generated
grains will remain uninterrupted. It is therefore possible that the
change of the Intensity parameter may not have an immediate
audible effect in relation to the value set by the Length parameter.
• The rate of grain generation from the Continuous Granular Engine
is set by both the Intensity and Length parameters.
• Double press and hold the Shift Button to engage arbhar’s ‘track
and hold’ mode (See the Track & Hold Mode section for
more information.

User avatar
MossGarden
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 479
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 2:50 pm
Location: Somewhere

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by MossGarden » Thu Aug 13, 2020 6:02 am

Has anyone experienced issues with buffer pitch? I’ve noticed recently my incoming audio being recorded in the buffer then playing at a different pitch from the original even with the pitch dial at 12. I have to adjust the tuning of the buffer by ear until it matches, rather annoying.


Edit: FIXED! Instruo are a superfast troubleshooting outfit! :guinness:

User avatar
MikeLeeBirds
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 2:59 am

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by MikeLeeBirds » Fri Aug 14, 2020 5:20 am

MossGarden wrote:
Thu Aug 13, 2020 6:02 am
Has anyone experienced issues with buffer pitch? I’ve noticed recently my incoming audio being recorded in the buffer then playing at a different pitch from the original even with the pitch dial at 12. I have to adjust the tuning of the buffer by ear until it matches, rather annoying.


Edit: FIXED! Instruo are a superfast troubleshooting outfit! :guinness:
Awesome that it could be fixed! I need to set my pitch and deviation knobs at 11 o‘clock to get the samples to play at the original pitch.

What was the fix for you?
(I emailed Jason and am waiting for an answer.)

UPDATE: Fixed, thanks to a very quick response from Sebastian Lexer! It was a matter of re-calibrating with a 3V reference.
Last edited by MikeLeeBirds on Fri Aug 14, 2020 6:55 am, edited 2 times in total.

joskery
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 597
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by joskery » Fri Aug 14, 2020 6:30 am

djd_oz wrote:
Wed Aug 12, 2020 9:32 pm
joskery wrote:
Mon Aug 10, 2020 12:00 pm
Oh, to clarify, going full CW or CCW is indeed grainless territory. But there's no 'a grain every now and then' setting when the intensity knob is ALMOST CW, at least with smaller grain lengths it's pretty full-on grain warfare as soon as it 'kicks in', so to speak.
I believe this is described in the manual,
Intensity: The Intensity parameter sets the amount of generated grains
from the Continuous Granular Engine.
• The maximum number of grains are generated when the knob is in
its centre position.
• Turning the knob anticlockwise from its centre position will decrease
the number of grains. Any knob setting anticlockwise of its centre
position will generate grains at the same amplitude and set a
synchronous grain generation pattern.
• Turning the knob clockwise from its centre position will decrease the
number of grains. Any knob setting clockwise of its centre position
will generate grains at random amplitudes and set asynchronous
grain generation. Random amplitude and asynchronous grain
generation settings can be adjusted in the arbhar_config.txt file (See
the arbhar_config.txt section of the manual for more information).
• Turning the knob to either of its extreme settings will turn off the
Continuous Granular Engine. In these settings, the Strike Button and
Strike Input can be used for time-synchronized grain generation via
the Strike Granular Engine.
• When changing the Intensity parameter, all currently generated
grains will remain uninterrupted. It is therefore possible that the
change of the Intensity parameter may not have an immediate
audible effect in relation to the value set by the Length parameter.
• The rate of grain generation from the Continuous Granular Engine
is set by both the Intensity and Length parameters.
• Double press and hold the Shift Button to engage arbhar’s ‘track
and hold’ mode (See the Track & Hold Mode section for
more information.
Yes, should've clarified: Some firmware update added new configuration options, which aren't very straightforwardly described in the notes, and was wondering whether those could change this behavior. Will need to email them, I suppose.

corbetta
Common Wiggler
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2018 12:04 am
Location: sf

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by corbetta » Fri Aug 14, 2020 12:26 pm

In my experience you can get sparse textures with fairly long grains, intensity nearly full CW, and the “random timing with random amplitude” setting in the config. There is no way to control “inter-grain” silence duration so at short grain lengths they will happen fairly frequency.

Option B is to use the external trigger with a suitably sparse triggering pattern; you could then choose whatever grain length you want.

joskery
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 597
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by joskery » Fri Aug 14, 2020 12:51 pm

corbetta wrote:
Fri Aug 14, 2020 12:26 pm
In my experience you can get sparse textures with fairly long grains, intensity nearly full CW, and the “random timing with random amplitude” setting in the config. There is no way to control “inter-grain” silence duration so at short grain lengths they will happen fairly frequency.

Option B is to use the external trigger with a suitably sparse triggering pattern; you could then choose whatever grain length you want.
Yeah, this seems about right... Time for me to let go of the idea :waah: Good advice!

User avatar
aintnopicnic
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2016 4:17 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by aintnopicnic » Thu Aug 20, 2020 5:02 am

Arbahr is no Clouds replacement and not suitable for "end of chain".
It has other strengths.

autopoiesis
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1414
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 6:00 pm
Location: berlin

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by autopoiesis » Fri Sep 04, 2020 6:42 pm

slexer wrote:
Tue Jun 09, 2020 4:30 am
Just to let everyone know here, the very latest version 1-6-b is now available from here: https://www.instruomodular.com/support/ and has
  • Reduced power consumption (compared to version 1-6-a)
  • In the arbhar_config.txt file, Scan CV can be defined to control either playback speed or play head offset when in Follow Mode.
  • minor bug fixes
about this followModeScanCv option ("this is to repurpose the ScanCV input to control an offset between playhead and record head when in Follow Mode"), I would find it helpful if someone could explain in more detail how this differs from the default mode for Follow (where Scan CV sets playback speed), and an example of a scenario where this setting is useful.

another thing that's not clear: does it change the behavior of the Scan knob, or just the CV input?

finally, when in Follow mode, does Arbhar still stop playback when it reaches the end of the buffer? or does it loop back to the beginning, or continue to play the final grain at the end of the buffer (maybe with Spray randomizing this)?

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”