Voting open for your top 3 tracks in our Odd Meter Remix/ReMangle/Reimagine Challenge

Prizes generously donated by:
ADDAC System (Eurorack 3U)
Endorphin.es (Eurorack 3U)
Fred's Lab (DIY Paraphonic Synth)
Northern Light Modular (Buchla-format h-series OR Eurorack3U)
Rattly and Raw (Wiggler Approved Kontakt Instrument)
Studio.h (Buchla-format 4U)

Get your vote on and free 42 minute modular playlist for your listening pleasure.

Mannequins' Cold Mac??

Cwejman, Doepfer, Erica, MakeNoise, Mutable instruments, TipTop Audio, Analogue Solutions, and much more! The world’s most popular format.
Be sure to look into MANUFACTURER SUB-FORA as well..

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, Joe.

Post Reply
User avatar
fluxsignal
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 02, 2019 1:20 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Post by fluxsignal » Mon May 13, 2019 10:42 am

You can also use LOCATION to convert a (slow) bipolar square wave or triangle wave into a sine wave with variable amplitude. The frequency of the input wave will determine the amplitude. Depending on the original location of the survey circuit when the process begins, the output wave might have a DC offset.
Signal / Flux is an IRL and URL resource that aims to expand access to and literacy about synthesis through workshops, individualized study, and articles. We also offer repair and DIY building/kitting services!

signalflux.org

User avatar
insoul8
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1206
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2017 11:48 am
Location: District of Corruption

Post by insoul8 » Mon May 13, 2019 10:44 am

fluxsignal wrote:A fun use for LOCATION is a "transition manager."

The basic idea is to offset the LOCATION output by about +5V so the range is around 0-10V. This lets it have no effect on a destination parameter when it is at its minimum, or a controllable (via attenuverters) affect on the parameter when it is at its maximum.

Once you've offset it, patch the offset version to several different parameters around your synthesizer, but ideally pass it through an individual attenuverter first for each parameter.

Set LOCATION so that it ramps to the minimum (the offset version is now outputting around 0V. Use the knobs for the parameters it is connected to set the "deault" preset for each parameter.

Set LOCATION so that it ramps to the maximum (the offset version is now outputting around +10V). Use the attenuverters to set the "alternate" preset for each parameter.

Now you can use the LOCATION input voltage to control how quickly you transition between your two presets. Setting the voltage to 0V will cause LOCATION to freeze in its tracks, leaving you with an interpolation of your two presets.

Something similar can be done with FOLLOW. You don't need to offset the voltage though since it is already 0-5V. In this example, changing the FOLLOW input voltage will simply slew between your "default" and "alternate" presets - default is at 0V input, alternate is at +/- 5V input.
fluxsignal wrote:You can also use LOCATION to convert a (slow) bipolar square wave or triangle wave into a sine wave with variable amplitude. The frequency of the input wave will determine the amplitude. Depending on the original location of the survey circuit when the process begins, the output wave might have a DC offset.
Thanks for those! I'll certainly give them a try.

User avatar
Godphaser
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 12:13 pm

Post by Godphaser » Tue May 21, 2019 11:49 pm

Just got mine, what an amazing module!

nomenklature
Common Wiggler
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2018 3:19 pm

crossfader not closing completely

Post by nomenklature » Tue Nov 05, 2019 10:50 pm

I just got mine, but was disappointed to discover that the crossfader section doesn't close all the way when passing audio. Has anyone else experienced this?

With separate audio sources patched into Left and Right, and the knob at either extreme, Left and Right outs should only contain one side, but there is a bit of channel bleed.

User avatar
sutekina bipu-on
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 873
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2017 9:24 pm
Location: USA

Re: crossfader not closing completely

Post by sutekina bipu-on » Tue Nov 05, 2019 10:58 pm

nomenklature wrote:I just got mine, but was disappointed to discover that the crossfader section doesn't close all the way when passing audio. Has anyone else experienced this?

With separate audio sources patched into Left and Right, and the knob at either extreme, Left and Right outs should only contain one side, but there is a bit of channel bleed.
Yeah, it's not meant to completely cut out one side. Either way, i believe its intended behavior.

User avatar
lisa
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 5915
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:00 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by lisa » Wed Nov 06, 2019 12:15 am

nomenklature: hm, I think mine does. Or well, I haven’t noticed any bleed. Is it very pronounced or just a whisper?

nomenklature
Common Wiggler
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2018 3:19 pm

Post by nomenklature » Fri Nov 08, 2019 1:39 am

lisa wrote:Is it very pronounced or just a whisper?
it's pretty pronounced, too noticeable to work as an audio crossfader

droningspaghettimonster
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 11:18 am

Re: Mannequins' Cold Mac??

Post by droningspaghettimonster » Sun Apr 19, 2020 7:06 am

I revisit this module once every few months, and last couple of days I've been exploring the audio possibilities. Again and again I wish I had two, one for cv and one for feedback. Even three.... :zombie:

Del
Common Wiggler
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue May 15, 2018 10:14 pm

Re: Mannequins' Cold Mac??

Post by Del » Sat Feb 13, 2021 8:09 pm

Can you do any damage by self-patching this thing, i.e. running the mac output back into it?

User avatar
dekemcculo
Common Wiggler
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 11:23 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Mannequins' Cold Mac??

Post by dekemcculo » Sun Feb 14, 2021 2:22 am

no, it does great with self patching. my favorite is to send crease out to survey input, survey knob around 9o’c or 3o’c (you have to twiddle to find the spots), listen to mac out and you've got a noise generator :party:

Del
Common Wiggler
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue May 15, 2018 10:14 pm

Re: Mannequins' Cold Mac??

Post by Del » Mon Feb 22, 2021 5:26 am

Can anybody recommend a good weighty knob to replace the one Cold Mac comes with? I've never replaced any knobs before but I was expecting something nice and heavy and was quite let down by the feel.

User avatar
tvparcable
Common Wiggler
Posts: 124
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2019 5:24 pm

Re: Mannequins' Cold Mac??

Post by tvparcable » Mon Feb 22, 2021 5:41 am

Del wrote:
Mon Feb 22, 2021 5:26 am
Can anybody recommend a good weighty knob to replace the one Cold Mac comes with? I've never replaced any knobs before but I was expecting something nice and heavy and was quite let down by the feel.
If it's really the feel that's your issue, just changing the knob will not affect the feedback or resistance you get when you turn it. You'd want to change the actual potentiometer, which is a whole other story. If you want to go down that route, I think the Mannequins website has some instructions on the help section.

Del
Common Wiggler
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue May 15, 2018 10:14 pm

Re: Mannequins' Cold Mac??

Post by Del » Mon Feb 22, 2021 5:59 am

tvparcable wrote:
Mon Feb 22, 2021 5:41 am
Del wrote:
Mon Feb 22, 2021 5:26 am
Can anybody recommend a good weighty knob to replace the one Cold Mac comes with? I've never replaced any knobs before but I was expecting something nice and heavy and was quite let down by the feel.
If it's really the feel that's your issue, just changing the knob will not affect the feedback or resistance you get when you turn it. You'd want to change the actual potentiometer, which is a whole other story. If you want to go down that route, I think the Mannequins website has some instructions on the help section.
Sorry - I specifically meant the feel of the plastic knob itself. Seems like the potentiometer is good.

User avatar
dekemcculo
Common Wiggler
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 11:23 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Mannequins' Cold Mac??

Post by dekemcculo » Mon Feb 22, 2021 11:42 am

A d-shaft knob should do, I know people have switched it out for different color sifam/selco knobs. Check out thonk's offerings — probably wont give you the weight you want but might be a jumping off point. They also offer these brass ring adaptors which are supposed to make it so you can put different kind of knobs on d-shaft pots, which I haven't used but seem nifty.

Del
Common Wiggler
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue May 15, 2018 10:14 pm

Re: Mannequins' Cold Mac??

Post by Del » Mon Feb 22, 2021 7:13 pm

dekemcculo wrote:
Mon Feb 22, 2021 11:42 am
A d-shaft knob should do, I know people have switched it out for different color sifam/selco knobs. Check out thonk's offerings — probably wont give you the weight you want but might be a jumping off point. They also offer these brass ring adaptors which are supposed to make it so you can put different kind of knobs on d-shaft pots, which I haven't used but seem nifty.
Thanks a lot. Do you happen to know if it’s the d-shaft with the pointer on the d side or the flat side? I’m reluctant to pull off the knob until I’m sure I’m going to swap it. Hope I don’t break anything by doing it.

User avatar
dekemcculo
Common Wiggler
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 11:23 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Mannequins' Cold Mac??

Post by dekemcculo » Mon Feb 22, 2021 8:20 pm

Very easy to pull it off and put it back on, difficult to damage it. I can't remember off the top of my head I'm worried I'll mix myself up and say the wrong one, but it's the more usual one if that helps : P

VatOS

Re: Mannequins' Cold Mac??

Post by VatOS » Mon Apr 26, 2021 2:50 am

Just got my Cold Mac today, and tried it out as a mixer first. Just wondering, while you are using as a four or six input mixer, is there anything else the module can do simultaneously?

User avatar
vidret
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 382
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 10:26 pm
Location: Skogen

Re: Mannequins' Cold Mac??

Post by vidret » Mon Apr 26, 2021 3:48 am

VatOS wrote:
Mon Apr 26, 2021 2:50 am
Just got my Cold Mac today, and tried it out as a mixer first. Just wondering, while you are using as a four or six input mixer, is there anything else the module can do simultaneously?

All the inputs have separate outputs that still work.

Like mixing a kick + other sounds, and then making sure to mix the kick in on the envelope follower, you can now have the mix and the envelope of the kick out.

VatOS

Re: Mannequins' Cold Mac??

Post by VatOS » Mon Apr 26, 2021 4:55 am

^ I'll be sure to give that a try, thanks!

User avatar
ddoyen
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1109
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 12:49 pm

Re: Mannequins' Cold Mac??

Post by ddoyen » Tue Apr 27, 2021 3:39 pm

Wow the waveshaping/weird distortion you can get out of this thing is pretty amazing. Oscillator into survey and a bunch of self patching outputs back to inputs and there's a ton of good stuff. Particularly like feeding the mac and crease inputs back to various places. Can take a sine wave all kinds of places.
20210427_163249.jpg

Aaronautical001
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 307
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 1:43 am
Location: UK

Re: Mannequins' Cold Mac??

Post by Aaronautical001 » Wed Apr 28, 2021 6:20 am

vidret wrote:
Mon Apr 26, 2021 3:48 am
VatOS wrote:
Mon Apr 26, 2021 2:50 am
Just got my Cold Mac today, and tried it out as a mixer first. Just wondering, while you are using as a four or six input mixer, is there anything else the module can do simultaneously?

All the inputs have separate outputs that still work.

Like mixing a kick + other sounds, and then making sure to mix the kick in on the envelope follower, you can now have the mix and the envelope of the kick out.
I cannot believe that didn’t occur to me before :doh:

FletchNYC
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 387
Joined: Sat May 09, 2020 4:31 pm

Re: Mannequins' Cold Mac??

Post by FletchNYC » Mon May 03, 2021 5:11 am

How is Cold Mac as a mixer and VCA? I’m needing more of both, and I’m wondering if this could kill two birds with one stone. Does it do these task well, or is it just so-so at these two things?

VatOS

Re: Mannequins' Cold Mac??

Post by VatOS » Mon May 03, 2021 6:50 am

FletchNYC wrote:
Mon May 03, 2021 5:11 am
How is Cold Mac as a mixer and VCA? I’m needing more of both, and I’m wondering if this could kill two birds with one stone. Does it do these task well, or is it just so-so at these two things?
The most basic use of the Cold Mac is to mix 6 inputs down to a single output, where the Survey knob acts as a VCA that amplifies the mix. If you have up to four inputs, there are some options, so two inputs can have 1x Gain and two with 2x Gain. When mixing up to six they equalize. As mentioned here in a response to my query, when using it this way each channel retains its own output as well with different properties. If you want to control the gain of each channel individually in a performance orientated way, it's not what you're after. But this use I've just described is just scratching the surface of what the module can do.

This video introduces the features pretty well:

FletchNYC
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 387
Joined: Sat May 09, 2020 4:31 pm

Re: Mannequins' Cold Mac??

Post by FletchNYC » Mon May 03, 2021 8:18 am

VatOS wrote:
Mon May 03, 2021 6:50 am
FletchNYC wrote:
Mon May 03, 2021 5:11 am
How is Cold Mac as a mixer and VCA? I’m needing more of both, and I’m wondering if this could kill two birds with one stone. Does it do these task well, or is it just so-so at these two things?
The most basic use of the Cold Mac is to mix 6 inputs down to a single output, where the Survey knob acts as a VCA that amplifies the mix. If you have up to four inputs, there are some options, so two inputs can have 1x Gain and two with 2x Gain. When mixing up to six they equalize. As mentioned here in a response to my query, when using it this way each channel retains its own output as well with different properties. If you want to control the gain of each channel individually in a performance orientated way, it's not what you're after. But this use I've just described is just scratching the surface of what the module can do.

This video introduces the features pretty well:
What a great demo. Thanks for that. How many different sources can the VCA effect at once? Could I have six separate sources all being modulated by survey simultaneously? Would be nice if the mixer had individual gain, but even without it, it’s impressive. Thanks!

Del
Common Wiggler
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue May 15, 2018 10:14 pm

Re: Mannequins' Cold Mac??

Post by Del » Tue Nov 02, 2021 2:45 am

I found an unintended (I guess) feature of Cold Mac but since I did it accidentally and by doing something I shouldn't do, I would like to know why this works so well and whether or not I can do it without endangering any modules. If you put an LFO (for example) into "right" and patch a cable from "offset" (yes, I know that's an input — this is what I mean) into an oscillator v/oct, say, you can attenuate the lfo with the knob. I know you can kind of do this with the right / left ins and outs anyway, but I'm curious.

Post Reply

Return to “1U & 3U Eurorack Modules”