Blacet Frac Rack Dimensions Required?

Blacet, Metalbox, Synthasonic, PAiA and the rest.... a frac frenzy!

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, Joe.

Post Reply
DylanOwen

Blacet Frac Rack Dimensions Required?

Post by DylanOwen » Tue Aug 18, 2020 4:34 am

Moderator edit: this is a copy from a post from 2011 by a spammer ... original post viewtopic.php?t=41459

does anyone have the blacet frac rack dimensions easily accessible?

i know it's 5.25" high, but what is the depth and width, with and without the PS500 strapped to the back?

alas the search is not working, i know this info is here somewhere, but can't find it here or on the blacet site either.

i need the info for a case i want made.

thanks in advance,

User avatar
diophantine
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2428
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 2:50 pm
Location: San Diego, CA, USA

Re: Blacet Frac Rack Dimensions Required?

Post by diophantine » Tue Aug 18, 2020 7:19 am

There's been a few versions of the Blacet rack; most are 2 rows high, not one.
Is there a particular one that you are looking at?

User avatar
werock
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 3:38 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Blacet Frac Rack Dimensions Required?

Post by werock » Tue Aug 18, 2020 7:22 am

Depends which one you mean - the old single row rack is 7" deep without the PS500 - I don't have one of those supplies so don't know how much that adds. Width is standard 19" with the rack ears attached. The newer rak3 is 6" deep, with an internal power supply.

User avatar
mamonu
90s ambient miscreant!!
Posts: 753
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 4:08 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Blacet Frac Rack Dimensions Required?

Post by mamonu » Tue Aug 18, 2020 7:51 am

from

viewtopic.php?p=17691#p17691


Frac Rack depth is 7 inches = 18cm

Power Supply Depth is 2.5 inches = 6.5cm

Keep in mind, if you get longer screws you can mount the power supply to the inside of the Frac Rack. You just have to plan your layout around it a little more so that shallow modules go in front of the power supply.

A HexZone does the job perfectly. Other candidates are Dual Lin.VCA, Micro LFO, CGS Digital Noise, Window Comparator,
frac & 100m & eurorack (equal opportunities wiggler)
-----------------------------------------------
:blacet: :blacet: fracmodular.github.io :blacet: :blacet:

User avatar
KSS
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 5842
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2016 7:28 am

Re: Blacet Frac Rack Dimensions Required?

Post by KSS » Tue Aug 18, 2020 2:42 pm

In the interest of having all the dimension in one thread.

The rails are 17" long. Two plates functioning as rack ears and slotted for mounting in a standard 3U height rack space per module row, are each 2 inches wide and fasten onto the rails with two screws per rail, four screws per end plate. At each end these plates overlap the rails by one inch leaving 15 inches between and an overall width of 19 inches. The module panels -and rack frame end panels- are 1/8" thick.
Treat utility modules as stars instead of backup singers.
Treat power supplies like Rockstars instead of roadies!
Chase magic sound, not magic parts.

Post Reply

Return to “Fractional Rack Modules”